Review: Girl Online

Reviews 2

image

**Diclaimer: this is my first review, bear with me**

Title: Girl Online

Author: Zoe Sugg

Series : none

Publisher: Keywords Press

Publish Date: November 25, 2014

Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias Girl Online, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family – and the panic attacks she’s suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever.

Well where do I begin with this book. First of all Girl Online has recently been under fire for those who don’t know. Apparently Zoe Sugg used a ghost writer to write pretty much the majority of the book. Personally I do not see this as such a big deal (buzzfeed blew this way out of proportion). I really think the ghost author should have been credited on the actually book though. I think it’s mentioned on the goodreads page. but I’m not very sure. Overall, I have figured out that many, many, many popular authors have used a ghost writer at one point of their career. Pretty much the only reason that Sugg came under fire is that she is very popular youtuber under the name “Zoella’. Now I am subscribed to her, her brother, her boyfriend, and many of their mutual friends. I love all them and I enjoy watching their videos. The majority of the British Youtubers have written books, but mostly about themselves. Girl Online, I think is the first fiction book (mostly fiction). Zoe Sugg did not deserve the amount of crap she got for this book, but hey that didn’t stop me from reading it.

Now time for actually talking about the book. Girl Online is a predictable, teenager, boy meets girls, type of book….and I loved it. Penny is from Brighton (where Zoe Sugg is actually from) and after a very embarrassing accident at school, her parents announce that they will be spending Christmas in New York City, In the Big Apple, Penny meets a boy name Noah…and I think you know what happened next. There is also a very big twist at the end which I found quite funny.

My only issues with this book that Noah’s story was not very developed. I would have liked if maybe there were a couple of chapters in his pov…but beggars can’t be choosers. I would recommend this book if you are a fan of Zoella. Penny is pretty much Zoe Sugg in book form. However if you are like me and, if you see it in the bookstore, there are a lot more books that are better written and have the same plot. I personally would not have bought it, but this book was a secret Santa gift. I give it……

3/5 Cauldrons

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

YAYYYY I did it!!

Signature Sarah

One thought on “Review: Girl Online

Leave a Reply

