Review: New Moon

Review Image

49041Title: New Moon

Author: Stephenie Meyer

Series: The Twilight Saga

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Publish Date: September 6, 2006

Genres: Young Adult, Supernatural, Romance

I knew we were both in mortal danger.

Still, in that instant I felt well. Whole. I could feel my heart racing in my chest, the blood pulsing hot and fast through my veins again. My lungs filled deep with the sweet scent that came off his skin.

It was like there had never been any hole in my chest. I was perfect – not healed, but as if there had never been a wound in the first place.

For Bella Swan, there is one thing more important than life itself: Edward Cullen. But being in love with a vampire is even more dangerous than Bella ever could have imagined. Edward has already rescued Bella from the clutches of one evil vampire, but now, as their daring relationship threatens all that is near and dear to them, they realize their troubles may be just beginning…

After embarking on my Twilight marathon, I had fairly high expectations for the series as a whole, particularly after I enjoyed reading the first book. And I know understand that this was a huge mistake that could have easily been avoided had I heeded all of the scathing reviews that warned me not to pick up the saga. But since I’ve started the series, I need some sense of closure, so I don’t think I’ll be turning my back on the series and trying to permanently erase this endeavor from my memory. I was hoping that, in writing this review several days after finishing the book, I could avoid the scathing rant that I had initially been preparing, but I’m not so sure if I was successful.

My first issue was with the pacing. While the book started and ended with a bang, the middle was contrastingly unimpressive. In essence, I enjoyed Edward’s relatively nonexistent role (which, of course, took place at the very beginning and very end of the novel). The remainder of the book was bland, dragging significantly to the point where I was skimming entire chapters in search of some interesting plot point. I never pictured myself saying this, but Bella is incredibly boring without Edward – she merely oh-so-impressively manages to use Jacob in Edward’s absence. And then proceeds to continually break his heart in latter books.

That brings me to my next major qualm: the plot, or lack thereof. The book began promisingly, until a single, stupid paper cut set off a chain of events that caused the book to quickly spiral downhill. When Edward disappeared shortly thereafter, he took my attention with him, leading to a very dull 520 pages until Edward reappeared. While reading, I was constantly plagued by one question: why does this book need to be 563 pages? The plot in its entirety could be easily condensed into a 20 page novella, which would have resulted in a significantly less frustrated Olivia (have you noticed I’m frustrated?). If anyone has stumbled across the reason for the excessive number of pages, please, enlighten me.

I think I can blame Jacob for nearly everything – he contributed to the tiresome storyline, captured Bella’s heart but made no romantic advances, created tension between Bella and Edward, and was, overall, a let down. Yes, I realize that Edward has his faults, as well, but I’m finding Jacob’s to be somewhat more unforgivable, relatively speaking. And, unfortunately, he only gets worse in Eclipse.

And of course we can’t forget about Bella. Bella, Bella, Bella…if I had wanted to sympathize with a helpless damsel in distress, I would have watched a Disney movie (in hindsight, this would have been the better option in this scenario). She spent the entire book moping like a toddler throwing a temper tantrum in a store when they’re not permitted to get an item. While she could have resumed her old, pre-boyfriend life, she chose to remain paralyzed in anticipation for Edward’s inevitable return. But, of course, no one else has ever experienced some sort of heartbreak, so Bella’s fit must be perfectly justified. Someone needs a strong dose of reality…

Need I say:
tumblr_mhxu9tEjLV1rbdreco2_250

Consequently, I don’t have the best overall impression of New Moon – might it have something to do with the fact that the only main character that I do not strongly object to made an appearance for a total of 45 pages? Or the plethora of moronic characters? Or the lackluster plot? Or a combination of all three? Regardless, I found New Moon to be a considerable let-down after reading and enjoying the preceding book in the series. While this novel certainly didn’t win me over, I feel obligated to continue with the saga, so on to Eclipse!

P.S. Would it disturb the neighbors terribly if I decided to light this book on fire in my backyard?

1/5 Cauldrons

Witches_Cauldron-2

Signature Olivia

2 thoughts on “Review: New Moon

    • Thanks! I have to agree, New Moon is my least favorite of the books so far (I’m partway through Breaking Dawn). And the movies certainly don’t do the books justice! I wish I had read the books before watching the movies, because I think I would have enjoyed the series more overall.

      Like

Leave a Reply

