Obsidian Buddy Read: Day 1

Buddy Read

Summary
Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Progress

Chapter 3, Page 24 – 7%

General

I’ve seen so many raving reviews for this book that I couldn’t wait to start this book!  Therefore, the expectations are quite high (to anyone who has recommended this book to me or written one of the loving reviews of this book: I better not be disappointed).  That being said, I’m mildly fearful that Obsidian will be a letdown – I may be expecting way too much.  I guess we’ll see in time…

On a completely unrelated note, it irks me that the synopsis, both on Goodreads (written above) and on the back of the book, reveals a major plot point: Daemon and his sisters are aliens.  I would have much preferred finding this out on my own, rather than reading a spoiler in the summary of the book.  That’s a big no-no for me.

Characters

I’ve been introduced to exactly four characters at this point:

  1. Katy- the main character who is coming across as a bit helpless at the moment, not to mention her apparent issue with speaking to the opposite sex
  2. Katy’s mother- seems to have made some poor decisions in the past that have drastically influenced her overall outlook on life
  3. Daemon- Katy’s unfriendly next-door neighbor who was simultaneously described as a Greek god and a douchebag
  4. Dee- Daemon’s twin sister who very creepily learns that Katy is headed to the grocery store and decides to follow her to say hello, rather than simply waiting until Katy returned from the store and then greeting her new neighbor at her house

Swoon-Worthy

To be quite honest, I’m not 100% sure if Daemon is swoon-worthy.  While his physique was certainly appealing, he came across as a bit…strange in the one and only encounter our main character has had with him.  So potential swoon-watch, but don’t hold me to this if he does turn out to be a douchebag.

Plot Points

  • Katy moves from Florida to North Carolina to “start over.”
  • Katy ventures over to Daemon and Dee’s house in search of directions to the nearest grocery store.  Daemon answers the door and acts like a moody tween.
  • Katy drives to the grocery store.
  • Dee creepily shows up, having travelled to the grocery store after speaking to her brother about Katy’s arrival.  Perfectly normal.
  • Katy and Dee return home and begin gardening together in an attempt to fix the pathetic flowerbed in Katy’s front yard.

Thoughts & Emotions

More than anything, I’m perturbed by Daemon’s behavior – he’s coming across as a real jerk.  He sounds-punch worthy.  I’m also mildly awed at how Katy let Daemon walk all over her, paralyzed the second he opened the door.  Really?  Is that necessary? It’s as if she has never previously come in contact with a boy.

Quotes

You must be so bored after unpacking and then grocery shopping.  That’s like two of the worst things ever.  I mean, hell could be devised of those two things.  Think of an eternity of unpacking boxes and grocery shopping.

Likes

Hrm…the premise seems a bit…interesting.  I’m curious as to what happened to Katy’s dad, leading her mother to start over in a different state.  Right now, my best guesses are 1) divorce, 2) terminal illness, 3) alien abduction (they did mention aliens in the summary, after all), 4) zombie apocalypse.  I think I must be pretty close with at least one of those predictions.

Dislikes

The characters.  In general.  Yes, we have only met four of them, but that was more than enough.  Each character was whiny, ignorant, or a combination of the two (cough, cough, Katy).  While authors aim to make their characters realistic rather than some perfect, superhuman being, I think Armentrout is leaning toward the opposite end of the spectrum in characters that are so flawed that they are unrealistic.  And unfortunately, something tells me that Armentrout won’t be doing away with all of these characters anytime soon…Darn.

Schedule

12/22 – Ch. 1-2

12/23 – Ch. 3-4

12/24 – Ch. 5-6

12/25 – Ch. 7-8

12/26 – Ch. 9-10

12/27 – Ch. 11-12

12/28 – Ch. 13-14

12/29 – Ch. 15-16

12/30 – Ch. 17-18

12/31 – Ch. 19-20

1/1 – Ch. 21-22

1/2 – Ch. 23-24

1/3 – Ch. 25-26

1/4 – Ch. 27-28

1/5 – Ch. 29-30

Participants

Kathy over at The Novelty of Life.

Signature Olivia

One thought on “Obsidian Buddy Read: Day 1

  1. Pingback: First Blogiversary | Brewing Up Books

Leave a Reply

