Obsidian Buddy Read: Day 2

Buddy Read

Summary
Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Progress

Chapter 5, Page 47 – 14%

General

I honestly think that these chapters served solely as filler – readers don’t glean any additional background information, and it contains no major plot events.  Above and beyond Daemon annoying the heck out of Katy (and readers), nothing significant occurs.  Therefore, I’m really not sure what else to write here…

Characters

There were no new characters introduced in these chapters.  We’re left with the same four, boring characters from the first two chapters of the book:

  1. Katy- once again turns to mush in the presence of a male being
  2. Katy’s mother- creepily eavesdrops on her daughter’s private conversations (don’t get any ideas, mom)
  3. Daemon- comes across as even more of a jerk; also, I feel the obsessive need to introduce him to the piece of clothing that is commonly referred to as a shirt because he does not appear to own any
  4. Dee- doesn’t really make an appearance due to a trip to visit relatives

Swoon-Worthy

Daemon is officially off the swoon-worthy list.  He’s too much of a jerk to make the list.  I don’t think I could last 10 minutes if confined in a room with him.  I don’t think I can say the same for Katy, though, judging by her reaction to his unexpected appearance in her driveway:

How could someone move so damn quietly, especially as tall as he was?  And hey, he had a shirt on.  I wasn’t sure if I should be grateful or disappointed.  Mouth aside, he was drool-worthy.  I snapped out of it, preparing myself for the inevitable verbal smackdown.

Yup, drool-worthy.  Definitely the adjective I would have used.  And if you really don’t believe me:

Daemon stared at me for a moment, then laughed.  It was a deep, rumbling sound.  Nice.  Sexy.  Oh God.

But, to my delight, Katy later goes on to describe him and his inexcusable jerkiness:

He was the kind of boy that broke hearts and left a long line of them shattered behind him.  He was trouble.  Maybe the fun kind of trouble, but e was a jerk.  And I didn’t do jerks.

I knew it would come eventually!

Plot Points

  • Katy and Dee do some gardening like the true grannies that they are.
  • Katy spills the beans: her dad died of brain cancer several years ago, resulting in her eventual relocation and attempt to start anew.
  • Daemon repeatedly denies his all-encompassing jerky behavior, even when directly confronted about it.
  • When Katy offers to help Dee with the flowerbed in her front yard, Daemon quickly intervenes, claiming that Katy was not welcome anywhere on the property.  Hmm…might it be because of…the aliens?  I would have never guessed.
  • Dee insists that Daemon take Katy swimming the following day, holding his car keys hostage until h fulfilled his promise.  Katy is more than reluctant, to say the least, but is forced to attend when her mother announces her eavesdropping tendencies.

Thoughts & Emotions

I’m somewhere between bored and frustrated with the slow pace of the plot – maybe it seems to be moving slowly because I’m reading it fairly slowly, only completing two chapters per night?  The characters also play a major role in my overall opinion of the book, and I found them to be relatively useless in these two chapters.  I was hoping to see a bit of character development, or even the revelation of some background information.

Therefore, book meet window, window meet book, and voila!  Problem solved!

Quotes

If I had to pick a dream job right now, it would be working with landscaping and the outdoors.  Yeah, I sucked butt in the wilderness, but I was at my best with my ands sunk deep into the dirt.

Honestly, what?  Where did this even come from?  Katy’s really starting to frighten me.  And she frightened me to begin with.

Schedule

12/22 – Ch. 1-2

12/23 – Ch. 3-4

12/24 – Ch. 5-6

12/25 – Ch. 7-8

12/26 – Ch. 9-10

12/27 – Ch. 11-12

12/28 – Ch. 13-14

12/29 – Ch. 15-16

12/30 – Ch. 17-18

12/31 – Ch. 19-20

1/1 – Ch. 21-22

1/2 – Ch. 23-24

1/3 – Ch. 25-26

1/4 – Ch. 27-28

1/5 – Ch. 29-30

Participants

Kathy over at The Novelty of Life.

Signature Olivia

4 thoughts on “Obsidian Buddy Read: Day 2

  1. hi! I’m Lailabee. Thanks for the follow on bloglovin’ I have followed you back. I hope you come and take a peek at what I’ve been up to on my blog-I’d love a comment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

