Obsidian Buddy Read: Days 3, 4, & 5

Buddy Read

Summary
Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Progress

Chapter 11, Page 112 – 35%

General

Honestly – could the characters be any more obnoxious?  Daemon’s still acting hormonal and two-faced, which continues to irk me to no end.  To make matters worse, Katy demonstrates her idiocy when she moronically agrees to assist a suspicious looking man with his “flat tire” in a dark, isolated parking.  Methinks everyone could do with a little common sense.

Otherwise, the plot moved along briskly – I sense that Katy’s finally getting closer to discovering Daemon and Dee’s non-human identities.  But, she still continues to try to rationalize their suspicious behavior, leaving her in the dark for the time being.

Characters

We have a few more characters that are introduced in this section:

  1. Katy- overcome by a moment of stupidity in practically inviting a mugger to attack her; having never lived in a city or an area with a high crime rate, have more common sense
  2. Daemon- still bouncing back and forth between ultimate jerk and knight in shining armor; he needs to make up his mind and stick to one facade, rather than switching between the two
  3. Dee- comes across as rather cruel for forcing Daemon and Katy to spend time together; doesn’t play a huge role in these chapters
  4. Matthew- has a mysterious affiliation with the twins and continually makes references that Katy can’t make sense of
  5. Mysterious, Unnamed Mugger- has an obsession with the obscure “them;” attacks Katy, only to be deterred by Daemon’s intervention

Swoon-Worthy

Daemon – get your bloody act together.  Then maybe I can comment on your attractiveness or lack thereof.  In the meantime, I shall sit here and twiddle my thumbs…

Plot Points

  • Dee steals Daemon’s car keys, promising to return them if and only if Daemon agrees to take Katy swimming for the day to make up for his previous deplorable behavior.
  • When Daemon proposes spending the day together, Katy immediately refuses.  Her oh-so-pleasant-and-not-at-all-creepy evesdropping mother, however, swoops in to save the day, committing Katy to go swimming with Daemon.
  • Katy and Daemon go for a swim at a private, secluded lake.  Daemon is his usual obnoxious self (although Katy does egg him on quite a bit).
    • Katy has a minor panic attack when Daemon stays underwater for a period of approximately ten minutes.
  • Upon Katy and Daemon’s return home, they discovered that a mysterious figure by the name of Matthew has invited himself into Daemon and Dee’s house unannounced (which Daemon does not appreciate).  They have some strange altercation, during which Matthew repeatedly expresses his disapproval of Katy spending time with the twins.
  • Several days later, Daemon takes Katy hiking along Seneca Native American trails, recounting several eerie myths that originated with the tribe.
    • When Daemon and Katy decide to turn around and retrace their steps, they encounter a vicious bear.  Katy passes out, shortly after witnessing a flash of bright light.
    • When she awakes, she realizes that Daemon has carried her home.  He claims that the bear was scared by thunder and lightning from the ensuing storm, but Katy still has her doubts about what truly transpired.
    • Daemon leans in to kiss Katy, but they are abruptly interrupted by Dee, who is oblivious to her intrusion.
  • Against Dee’s advice, Katy travels to the local library late one night on her own.  When she heads to her car, she is approached by a very shady man asking for assistance with his flat tire.  And Katy agrees to help him.
    • Surprise, surprise!  He turns on Katy, attacking her, and demanding to know where “they” are.  Katy, unsure as to whom he is referring, is unable to provide him with an answer, realizing that her attacker intended to kill her.
    • Daemon intervenes, saving Katy’s life and calling an ambulance to address her injuries.

Quotes

I thought you guys were supposed to be nice and charming. You know, the knight in shining armor and saving the damsel in distress kind.

-Katy, addressing Daemon after he saves her life at the library


His mood swings made me feel as if I were on one of those crappy tilt-a-whirls that wouldn’t end, but there…there was just something about him.

-Katy, expressing her contempt for Daemon (applauds)


He kicked off his sneakers and took off his jeans.  Underneath, he had on swim trunks.  Then he whipped his shirt off in one quick motion. Dayam.  I’d seen guys without their shirts on before.  I lived in Florida, where every guy felt the need to walk around half-dressed.  Hell, I’d seen this half-naked guy before.  This shouldn’t be such a big deal.  But man, I was so wrong.

-Katy, admiring Daemon shirtless on their swimming date


I bet you think things through, right?  Accept candy from strangers and get into vans with a sign that reads free kittens?

-Daemon,  in response to Katy’s foolishness in the library parking lot


I tried to keep on my side of the car and my head up, because I doubted he’d appreciate me lying on him, but once Daemon settled next to me, my head sort of fell to his chest.  He stiffened for a moment and then placed an arm around my shoulder.  the warmth of him quickly seeped into my bones.  It felt right, at that moment, to be nestled against him.  I felt safe, and it reminded me of the heat that had come off his hand earlier.

-Katy, on the way home from the hospital after her incident at the library

Likes

  • Fast pace and intriguing plot events
    • Maybe an exciting climax on the way?
  • Further development of the characters

Dislikes

  • Pretty much every bloody character at this point.
  • Katy’s poor life choices and excessive naivety.
  • At some points, the series of events seems very choppy, leading to a bit of a disjointed narrative.
  • During dialogue, the characters jump erratically from topic to topic – in certain cases, there is no identifiable train of thought to follow.

Schedule

12/22 – Ch. 1-2

12/23 – Ch. 3-4

12/24 – Ch. 5-6

12/25 – Ch. 7-8

12/26 – Ch. 9-10

12/27 – Ch. 11-12

12/28 – Ch. 13-14

12/29 – Ch. 15-16

12/30 – Ch. 17-18

12/31 – Ch. 19-20

1/1 – Ch. 21-22

1/2 – Ch. 23-24

1/3 – Ch. 25-26

1/4 – Ch. 27-28

1/5 – Ch. 29-30

Participants

Kathy over at The Novelty of Life.

Signature Olivia

2 thoughts on “Obsidian Buddy Read: Days 3, 4, & 5

  1. EVERYBODY seems to LOVE this series but I am NOT impressed! UGH! Can you really say that Katy reads, because when you read, they prepare you for this sort of thing! If you read, you would KNOW not to help out a random creepy stranger with a flat-tire! Especially when your neighbors are aliens and have warned you about not going to the library at night and whatnot!!! UGH! This book is so predictable and clues are dropped like rain out of the sky and yet, Katy is so oblivious!!!

    Daemon is a douche bag. Ya, it’s “explained” later why he’s like that but that still doesn’t cut it!!! *rolls eyes* He just annoys me to death.

    In my opinion, this series doesn’t really get better (well, except for maybe Onyx, which I liked a bit more but then the rest goes downhill again.) The only reason I am still continuing on with the series is because it’s addicting.

    Well, good luck, you’ll need it.
    ~Fari

    Like

    • I can’t tell if this book simply started off poorly and improves as you continue reading, or if it stays about the same, in which case I’ll be writing a not-so-pleasant review. I think it’s been a bit over publicized, especially considering the limited yet unimpressive exposure that I’ve had to the author’s writing style.

      The characters have all managed to get on my nerves, particularly Katy with her ingenious decisions and Daemon with his constant crabbiness. The only character I remotely enjoy is Katy’s mother, partly because she doesn’t play a huge role in this book so I can’t judge her poor life decisions.

      Even if I find this book to be awful, I’ll probably continue with the series out of pure curiosity (or stupidity). So yay!

      Like

Leave a Reply

