Review: The Fault in Our Stars

Reviews 2

Title: The Fault in Our Stars

Author: John Green

Series: none

Publisher: Dutton Penguin

Publish Date: January 10, 2012

Genres: YA Contemporary, Romance

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

My God this book, where do I begin. I first read this book last summer and I was an emotional wreck. I promise no spoilers but this book will break your heart…and if it doesn’t then you are a one tough human being. John Green is one of my favorite authors. Green also runs a youtube channel with his brother Hank, which I am proudly subscribed to. (https://m.youtube.com/vlogbrothers?uid=GaVdbSav8xWuFWTadK6loA) Looking for Alaska was the first book I read from him, and it was pretty good (review to come…probably have to re-read it first though). TFIOS was the first hardcover book I ever bought and so it holds a special place in my heart.

Ok lets actually begin with the review. TFIOS is the first book by John Green that the narrator is a girl. John Green usually makes fun of himself for it. Hazel is the main character who is extremely down to earth…the only bad thing is that she has cancer (and it’s pretty bad). Hazel is homeschooled, constantly going to doctor’s appointments, and extremely depressed. But everything changes when she meets Augustus Waters. Gus is the best friend of Isaac, who lost most of his eyes to cancer.

I probably read this book about 6 times..no joke. And each time I fall in love with Augustus Waters. Even though he isn’t rich or a Victorian age gentleman, I still love him. He’s a normal (well not really) teenager who I imagine is really, really, really, REALLY, cute. Gus was portrayed by Ansel Elgort and Hazel was portrayed by Shaileen Woodly. Ironically these two actors also played Tris and Caleb Prior from Divergent. Though many people were upset abut the casting but I had no problem with it. When I saw TFIOS I did not see Tris and Caleb,but a beautiful love story between to people with unfortunate circumstances.

The only issues I had with this book is that Looking for Alaska, Papertowns, and TFIOS pretty much have the same plot……but that doesn’t really bother me. Lots of people I know wil not read TFIOS because they have read other books by John Green because of the similar plots. However, personally I will always read TFIOS…love it, cry over it, and re-read it again.

Hope you enjoy my review/rant on how much I love this book..this book deserves:

5/5 Cauldrons

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

Signature Sarah

10 thoughts on “Review: The Fault in Our Stars

  1. I saw the movie I liked it very much and the book is definitely on my TBR list 😀
    I’ve only tried like one book of John Green Abundance of Katherine I didn’t like that one :/
    I like your rating system..cauldrons XD
    Cool Blog 🙂

    Like

  2. I read tfios for the first time a few months ago I had never read any of john green books previously, I fell in love with the characters, though they have cancer they are just typical teenagers finding love and having normal experience with that love. it is such a touching book, that isn’t just a love story but teaches you the meaning of life too its not the amount of time you get as its not Guaranteed its the small things in life that mean the most.
    I loved the film also but wished certain parts were in the film but even with out those parts it had the feel the meaning of the book and the actors did an amazing job in playing the characters that I fell in love with
    I’m looking forward to reading more of johns books im always subscribed to john and hank youtube they are great and funny guys
    laura
    http://theworldofpeanut.blogspot.co.uk/

    Like

  3. Awww. I also loved TFIOS. And the movie! I wanted to cry during the movie so bad, but I was at the theaters and my cousin was kept on asking me if I was going to cry. Kind of hard when that happens. 😀

    But I definitely loved reading it! I didn’t it was John Green’s first girl narrator though. That probably means I have to read more John Green books! 🙂

    Great review~
    Cindy @ In This World of Books..

    Like

Leave a Reply

