Obsidian Buddy Read: Days 6, 7, & 8

Buddy Read

Summary
Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Progress

Chapter 17, Page 174 – 46%

General

These chapters added a new twist to the series with the introduction of a set of triplets: Adam, Andrew, and Ash.  These triplets arrived in Katy’s small town within days of Daemon and Dee’s arrival.  Additionally, the triplets are close friends with the twins, and Katy draws numerous similarities between them, including their tendencies to perform unexplainable, non-human feats.

When Katy darts in front of a quickly moving truck out of anger, Daemon is forced to reveal his true abilities when he saves Katy’s life.  After all, he couldn’t find a plausible excuse for why the truck seemed to hang in midair until Katy was safely out of its path.  Therefore, he is forced to reveal his true alien identity to Katy, who remains surprisingly composed, considering the magnitude of the news that she receives.  Although, of course, this didn’t come as a surprise to readers because it was stated outright in the book summary, which makes perfect sense.  Thank you for ruining the book before I had even started.

Characters

We have a few more characters that are introduced in this section:

  1. Katy- continues to act naively (or would it be considered stupidly in this situation?); she surprisingly has the guts to stand up for herself during lunch, however, when she overturns her spaghetti on Daemon’s and Ash’s heads
  2. Daemon- continues to act like a complete jerk until he heroically saves Katy from a horrific death by truck
  3. Dee- stands up for Katy during her first day at school; repeatedly chastises both Daemon and Ash for their treatment of Katy
  4. Ash- Daemon’s ex-girlfriend who possessively plants herself practically on top of him whenever the two are in the same room; she acts obnoxiously to both Dee and Katy (although Katy receives the brunt of her hormonal imbalance)

Swoon-Worthy

I still feel as if Daemon’s negative traits far outweigh the positive ones, resulting in an immensely frustrating, yet attractive main character that I have no clue what to make of.  In real life, I have a feeling the Daemon would bother the heck out of me, so I guess we’ll have to wait and see how he turns out as the novel progresses.

Katy, however, is more easily fooled and has already fallen head-over-heels for this jerk (who has been the cause of more than one embarrassing moment, might I add).  If you don’t believe me, here’s an enraptured quote from Katy herself:

Shut up.  Like you don’t know that everyone on this planet thinks you’re good-looking.

Plot Points

  • Dee takes Katy shopping for schools supplies in preparation for the steadily approaching school year.  Upon completing their shopping, they stop at The Smoke Hole Diner for lunch, which is the most popular restaurant in town.
    • While they are dining, Daemon enters with Ash, his snobby ex-girlfriend.  Katy’s first encounter with Ash is not…promising.  Ash comes across as extremely cold, developing an immediate hatred of Katy for no apparent reason.
  • Katy starts off the school year with a bang, receiving a multitude of disgusted stares due to her well-known association with Daemon and Dee, who were considered “suspicious” by locals.  When lunch arrives, Katy is prepared to sit with Daemon, Dee, Ash, and her two brothers.  That is, until Ash essentially tells Katy that she is unwelcome.
    • Katy maturely proceeds to upend her tray of spaghetti and meatballs on Ash’s and Daemon’s heads (because, of course, Ash was sitting atop Daemon’s lap, as all ex-girlfriends/boyfriends do).
  • After this fun little incident, Daemon asks Katy to meet him for a walk after school.  They travel through the woods adjacent to their neighborhood.  Daemon demands that Katy stay away from both himself and his sister.
  • Out of sheer anger, Katy takes off toward the nearest road.  When she reaches the road, she notices a truck barreling toward her at full speed, to her dismay.  Instead of moving out of the way, Katy remains in the middle of the road, bracing herself for the inevitable impact.  Again, where is the common sense?
    • Katy is shocked when the impact never comes, opening her eyes to discover that some force appears to be freezing the speeding truck mere inches from her face.  That force is Daemon, confirming her previous suspicions about Daemon’s supernatural abilities.
  • Having revealed his secret, Daemon is forced to further explain his alien nature to Katy.  I have to admit, Katy takes the news like a champ.

Quotes

Yeah, see my mom normally takes me out to Chuck E. Cheese’s for diner so I’m a little out of my element.  Missing the ball pen and all.

-Katy’s snide comment when Daemon offers to take her to dinner


I think and talk better when I walk.  If not, I turn into the dickhead Daemon you’re not very fond of.

-Daemon, asking Katy to accompany him on a walk


Hands clenching the edges of the plastic tray, I leaned over the table and turned my plate upside down over Daemon and Ash’s heads.  Chunks of noodles and spaghetti sauce fell.  Most of the red gunk hit Ash and the noodles covered Daemon’s broad shoulder.  One long, stingy noodle slid over Daemon’s ear and hung there, flopping around.

-Katy loosing her temper when she is under the impression that Ash and Daemon are dating (possessive much?)

Likes

  • THE FACT THAT WE MAY ACTUALLY BE APPROACHING THE CLIMAX.  Or at least something that mildly resembles a plot.
  • My hopes of Daemon very tragically being run over by a train have yet to be crushed.

Dislikes

  • Authors are evidently now giving out spoilers in book synopsis’ which appear on the back cover and on websites such as Amazon and Goodreads.  Isn’t there some unspoken, yet widely understood rule against this?  I mean, that’s a huge no no.  I spent the first 16 chapters of the book waiting for Daemon and Dee to announce their alien identities, rather than using the subtle clues provided in the text to attempt to guess the source of their rare talents.
  • Initially, I thought Daemon had serious hormonal issues, which was predicated upon his extensive mood swings.  Now, Daemon looks like a pansy when compared to his charming ex-girlfriend, Ash.  Armentrout certainly likes her…moody characters.  Need I say more?

Schedule

12/22 – Ch. 1-2

12/23 – Ch. 3-4

12/24 – Ch. 5-6

12/25 – Ch. 7-8

12/26 – Ch. 9-10

12/27 – Ch. 11-12

12/28 – Ch. 13-14

12/29 – Ch. 15-16

12/30 – Ch. 17-18

12/31 – Ch. 19-20

1/1 – Ch. 21-22

1/2 – Ch. 23-24

1/3 – Ch. 25-26

1/4 – Ch. 27-28

1/5 – Ch. 29-30

Participants

Kathy over at The Novelty of Life.

Signature Olivia

6 thoughts on “Obsidian Buddy Read: Days 6, 7, & 8

  1. First off, I’m glad I found this blog because I love your posts so far! Secondly, I’m loving that you’re doing this posting series because I adore the Lux series but had SO MANY of these same issues with the first book (Daemon was SUCH a jerk). I will say though that I liked JLA’s negative portrayal of him initially because it’s not insta-love for the reader, you really have to get to know him before you can understand more of his reasoning and behaviors, and I found him to be a more rewarding fictional crush because he had an arc that made him less of a jerk. Can’t wait to read more of your thoughts on Obsidian!

    Like

    • Thank you! I really hope that Daemon improves in later books – I’ve had a feeling that there’s something he’s kept hidden that contributes to his generally foul mood, I just haven’t gotten to it yet. It is a bit of a relief that it isn’t an insta-love story (especially having just finished the Twilight saga, which is definitely not insta-love). I’m still waiting him to become less of a jerk, but I feel like that may be coming sooner than I expected.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

