Obsidian Buddy Read: Days 9, 10, & 11

Buddy Read Summary Starting over sucks. When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up. And then he opened his mouth. Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens. The hot alien living next door marks me. You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is. Progress Chapter 23, Page 253 – 65% General

Well, I think I’m falling in love – partially with the book, and partially with Daemon (the two definitely go hand-in-hand).  These chapters were crucial turning points in my abrupt switch from annoyance to appreciation of this novel, particularly as the characters were further developed and their backgrounds were elaborated upon.  The climax has cropped up and things are moving at a much faster pace, which has definitely contributed to my enjoyment of these chapters.  Maybe, just maybe, the ending will win me over entirely and this book will earn a place on my favorites shelf?  Maybe.

Characters There aren’t any new characters that pop up in these chapters:

  1. Katy- reacts well to the news that Daemon and Dee are aliens…as well as can be expected; she continues along her path of poor decision making, going out on a whim and accepting the first invitation she receives to homecoming, overlooking her date’s not-so-pleasant reputation
  2. Daemon- he finally loses the bad-boy persona, if only for a few moments; readers get a glimpse of his true character, and I’m hoping that we get to see this side of him more in the future
  3. Simon- takes Katy to homecoming and turns out to be even more of a jerk than Daemon (I hadn’t realized this was possible until now)

Swoon-Worthy Daemon finally begins to break down in these chapters, finally dropping a bit of his jerky facade to actually acknowledge Katy.  His previously cold, guarded personality begins to melt as he recognizes his attraction to Katy.  I guess some people are worth melting for:

You’re kind to my sister and to me – even though I admit I’ve been a jerk to you.  You could’ve run right out of the house yesterday and told the world about us, but you didn’t.  And you don’t put up with any of my crap.

He’s willing to admit he was a jerk.  That right there shows that he’s a keeper.  Take him and run, Katy, before somebody else does. Even Dee is willing to admit that Katy has an unusual affect on her brother:

We can date humans if we want to, you know.  It’s kind of pointless, but we can.  And [Daemon]’s never paid attention to any other human.

I sense that somebody was just betrayed by their twin sister…something tells me Daemon wouldn’t appreciate this sort of information, particularly not to his crush.  I’m not sure what gave me this impression – maybe his warm and fuzzy personality?  Daemon’s willingness to risk the exposure of his race by confiding in Katy is definitely validation that someone’s falling in loooooove, though!

Daemon’s lips curled into a half smile, and that was the only warning he gave.  Moving unbelievably fast, I was on my back and he was above me in a flash.  ‘Are you asking if I’m attracted to human girls?’ he asked. Dark, wet waves of hair fell forward.  Tiny droplets of water fell of the ends, splashing against my cheek.  ‘Or are you asking if I’m attracted to you?’ Using his hands, he lowered himself slowly.  There wasn’t an inch of space between our bodies.  Air fled my lungs at the contact of his body against mine.  He was male and ripped in all the places I was soft.  Being this close to him was startling, causing an array of sensations to zing through me.  I shivered.  Not from the cold, but from how warm and wonderful he felt.  I could feel every breath he took, and when he shifted his hips, my eyes went wide and I gasped.  Oh yeah, certain stuff was definitely working.

When Daemon invites Katy to ask questions about his people, his background, his powers, etc., the first question that pops into Katy’s mind is whether or not aliens can have sex.  I think she got her answer.  Maybe a bit more forwardly than she had expected.

We were too close and there was too much tension between us.  His gaze burned as it latched onto mine.  He lowered his head, and I forgot how to breathe.  Fascinated, I watched his lips slowly curve into a smile.

No matter how many times Katy tries to assure herself that she has not fallen in love with her neighbor, her actions speak much louder than her words.  Much, much louder.  She really needs to work on her lying if she plans to keep up with it, because I doubt anyone believes her at this point. And then, inevitably, Daemon returns to his usual, brooding, obnoxious self.  I knew it was too good to last.  I just knew it.  Now we’re in for another 50 pages of Daemon terrorizing Katy for the heck of it.  Heck, even Katy’s ready to punch him:

He left after that, disappearing into the crowded hall.  Which was good, because if he’d stayed a moment longer, I would have socked him.

And yes, I am now done with my full-fledged montage on the mildly swoon-worthy yet simultaneously annoying male character. Plot Points

  • After revealing their secret, Daemon and Dee are a bit on edge around Katy.  The last time a human discovered their true alien natures, they lost their brother.  They don’t want history to repeat itself.
  • Dee divulges that each use of their alien powers leaves a trace on nearby humans.  Their enemies, the Arum, use this trace to find and kill any nearby aliens.  Due to Daemon’s recent swooping-in-to-play-the-hero-and-saving-Katy-from-being-smushed-by-a-truck episode, Katy is lit up like a beacon, practically inviting the Arum to find the twins.  Consequently, Daemon remains by Katy’s side for the next two weeks until the trace wears off, protecting both Katy and his sister from any curious Arum.
  • Katy learns that Daemon is abnormally talented for an alien.  Most aliens specialize in one power (for example, Dee can shape shift for an indefinite amount of time, whereas others can only hold the facade for several minutes).  Daemon, however, is exceptional in all areas, and is the most adept at killing Arum, such as the one disguised as a man in need of a tire pump in the library parking lot.
  • Later that evening, Daemon invites Katy to the lake, offering to clear up any questions she may have about his kind.  Daemon finally breaks down, opening up to Katy (for the full dissertation of this scene, read the “Swoon-Worthy” section above).
  • The entire school is abuzz with talk of homecoming, which is steadily approaching.  Simon, a boy in Katy’s math class, invites her to the dance, and she accepts.  Little does Katy know, Simon has a bit of a reputation…
  • On the evening of the dance, Simon picks Katy up, failing to make a good impression with her mother. On the way to the dance, Simon begins drinking, putting Katy slightly on edge.
  • When they arrive, Katy quickly ditches Simon to dance with some of her female friends, including Dee.  Simon quickly catches up with her, though, insisting that they dance together.
    • From his position nearby, Daemon observes Simon’s hands wandering a bit and steps in, much to Katy’s relief.  He offers to drive Katy home, warning her that there was a party scheduled at a nearby field after the dance, but Katy refuses.

Quotes

‘You’re an alien.’ She nodded slowly.  I stared at her.  Maybe I should’ve felt fear or more confusion, but that wasn’t what burned inside me. Curiosity. Intrigue.

-Katy, finally coming to terms with Daemon and Dee being aliens; surprisingly, she isn’t scared, as she so blatantly states


I don’t dislike you, Daemon.  You’re hard to…like.  It’s hard to figure you out.

-Katy admits that Daemon hasn’t completely won her over, held back by his…challenging personality.  If only she could relay these feelings more often, rather than continually leading Daemon on.


You remind me of a little fuzzy kitten, all claws and no bite.

-Daemon has created the nickname “kitten” for Katy, which irks her to no end.  Upon Katy’s questioning of the nickname, Daemon provides this response.  How endearing.

Likes

I enjoyed viewing some of the characters in a different light – most obvious, of course, was Daemon, when he broke down completely at the lake, allowing his true personality to shine through.  Katy was also more understanding during this scene, dropping her hostilities and actually showing him some signs of affection.  This was the first cute, mildly romantic scene in the novel, which was a refreshing change – I’m a bit tired of books shoving neverending love scenes down your throat, one after the other.  Insta-love is also beginning to get on my nerves, so I’m glad Obsidian appears to be breaking all of these stereotypes.

Dislikes

Charaters seem to phase in and out of the novel – some of the earlier characters haven’t made an appearance since the first or second chapter.  We are also constantly introduced to new minor characters, that disappear shortly thereafter.  It would have been nice to see some follow up with these characters, allowing the author to more fully develop them.

I’m also waiting for Katy to outgrow her damsel in distress tendencies, which are getting a bit old.  She needn’t act so helpless all the time – she could try actually saving her own butt every once and awhile, starting with making smarter choices.  Oh well, I guess no one’s perfect.

Schedule 12/22 – Ch. 1-2

12/23 – Ch. 3-4

12/24 – Ch. 5-6

12/25 – Ch. 7-8

12/26 – Ch. 9-10

12/27 – Ch. 11-12

12/28 – Ch. 13-14

12/29 – Ch. 15-16

12/30 – Ch. 17-18

12/31 – Ch. 19-20

1/1 – Ch. 21-22

1/2 – Ch. 23-24

1/3 – Ch. 25-26

1/4 – Ch. 27-28

1/5 – Ch. 29-30 Participants Kathy over at The Novelty of Life. Signature Olivia

6 thoughts on “Obsidian Buddy Read: Days 9, 10, & 11

  1. I’m so glad Daemon’s starting to grow on you! The romance was a slow burn for me (as was Daemon’s character because initially I HATED him…like thought he was the biggest misogynistic rude piece of…well, you know). But I value JLA’s writing so much more now seeing how she bucks all of the instalove stereotypes!

    Like

    • I completely agree! I couldn’t get over Daemon’s seemingly arrogant, insensitive personality initially – I couldn’t stand him in general. As Daemon’s true colors were revealed gradually, though, I had a much greater appreciation for Armentrout’s writing, as well, finally understanding her motivation for portraying Daemon as a complete jerk at the beginning of the novel. I honestly can’t wait to finish up the series at this point!

      Like

Leave a Reply

