Discussion: Folding Down Page Corners vs. Using a Bookmark

Discussions

From what I’ve read, this seems to be a fairly controversial topic…the debate over folding down page corners versus using a bookmark to mark your place in a book.  Therefore, this isn’t meant to be a criticism of anyone, it’s merely a mini-rant for me to express my opinion and let out a bit of my pent up frustration.

As anyone who personally knows me can attest, I’m a bit OCD about my books – I want them to be in perfect condition and arranged impeccably on my shelves, no matter how many times I have to remove all of my books and rearrange them.  Even my favorite books don’t appear to have been read, despite the countless times I’ve read and reread them, or simply thumbed through them in search of a quote or specific scene.  Loaning out books is a nerve-wracking experience which generally involves daily check-ups to see how my book is doing, as well as constant no foldy-foldy the pages and no cracky-cracky the spines reminders.

But anyway, as I’m sure you can imagine, one of my biggest pet peeves is a book with countless folded over page corners (or at least creases, where you can clearly see that the page has been bent at some point in time).  As a large supporter of libraries and borrowing books from my peers, I’m often reading books which I do not personally own.  The majority of the books at my library aren’t in great shape – they have quite a bit of wear and tear, including bent page corners, which irks me to no end.  Nearly every book has a handful of bent corners, so there’s no escaping it!

Since a young age, I’ve collected bookmarks – my relatives would slip a few into cards or presents, I would receive free bookmarks at school and at the library, etc., adding to my growing collection.  When I was little, I firmly believed that you had to have a bookmark in your possession before you started to read a new book (don’t ask, I have no idea where this came from).  While I’ve outgrown this paralyzing fear of not having a bookmark with me at all times, I’ve resorted to using any nearby object to mark my place: pens, receipts, wrappers, hair ties, you name it.  And yes, I have gone without something to mark my place on several occasions, but have always had a terrible time trying to remember the appropriate page number – it’s no fun being 100+ pages off and searching through the book for a good 15 minutes before finding where you had left off.

I know, I know, I may be overreacting, but I don’t think I could bring myself to bend over a page corner.  It would physically pain me.  Luckily, my library has recently invested in ebooks, eliminating the need for me to stare at the dog eared pages, hoping that they will magically disappear (although I’m not thrilled about placing a book on hold for 5-6 weeks due to the limited number of ebooks available).  Don’t even get me started on cracked spines…

What do you prefer – dog earring pages or using a bookmark?

Signature Olivia

30 thoughts on “Discussion: Folding Down Page Corners vs. Using a Bookmark

  1. I’m a bookmark person. Always have been. I used to always make my own bookmarks, basically sheets of paper with “amazing” sharpie drawings, until my bookmark became too beat up to be any use. Now, I have this pink striped fabric bookmark that I won in a giveaway years ago and I’ve been using it since. I always have it with me, especially since I carry a book with me everywhere.
    Anyway, I’ve never been a fan of creasing a page to keep your place.

    Like

  2. I also use bookmarks all the time and if there’s no available (which is very seldom), I use a piece of paper, receipt or unused tissue (I always have tissue in my bag).I don’t want to make any folds on my the pages.

    Like

  3. For me, it depends on the age and quality of the books. For school books, I dogeared important passages or noted them with post its. For nice bright shiny new books, I refuse to dog ear. Slim paper bookmarks so they won’t screw with the binding. I’m OCD about books too which is why the Kindle has been a blessing.

    Like

  4. I really prefer to use a bookmark, but I still have plenty of books with horrible spines, hehe. I don’t know why people ear them because there is so much paper everywhere, you can even use junk mail to book mark your place. At the library recently they had Christmas cards cut up into bookmarks, they were so cute.

    Like

    • Luckily, I don’t have too many horrible spines in my collections! Although the few horrifically broken spines that I do have always seem to capture my attention!

      I agree, there will always be paper nearby – I’ve used some of the strangest items as bookmarks! The cut up Christmas cards is actually a really cute idea! I may resort to that using some of the Christmas cards I’ve received this year.

      Like

  5. To me, my books are like my children, and just like you I’m really OCD about keeping them looking brand new. I would never fold a page to make my place, that would be like hurting your child…

    Like

  6. I like to use a bookmark, but it I find a quote or a passage that I really like, I dogear it.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Discussion: Bookish Habits (the good, the bad, and the ugly) | Brewing Up Books

  8. Pingback: Discussion: Bookshelf Organization | Brewing Up Books

  9. Pingback: Discussion: Bookish Pet Peeves | Brewing Up Books

  10. Pingback: Discussion: School Reading and English Courses (Back-to-School Edition) | Brewing Up Books

  11. Pingback: First Blogiversary | Brewing Up Books

  12. Pingback: 2015 Wrap-Up | Brewing Up Books

  13. Pingback: 2016 Recap & 2017 Resolutions | Brewing Up Books

Leave a Reply

