Review: Matilda (re-read challenge)

Reviews 2

imageTitle: Matilda

Author: Roald Dahl

Series: none

Publisher: Jonathan Cape

Publish Date: 1988 (was not able to find exact date)

Genres: Childrens, Brithish Literature

Matilda is a little girl who is far too good to be true. At age five-and-a-half she’s knocking off double-digit multiplication problems and blitz-reading Dickens. Even more remarkably, her classmates love her even though she’s a super-nerd and the teacher’s pet. But everything is not perfect in Matilda’s world. For starters she has two of the most idiotic, self-centered parents who ever lived. Then there’s the large, busty nightmare of a school principal, Mrs. (“The”) Trunchbull, a former hammer-throwing champion who flings children at will and is approximately as sympathetic as a bulldozer. Fortunately for Matilda, she has the inner resources to deal with such annoyances: astonishing intelligence, saintly patience, and an innate predilection for revenge.

Reading this book brought back so many memories from when I was younger….but I realized that Matilda is a very twisted and strange book. First of all, Mrs. Trenchbolt is insane. When I was younger, I just thought she was the stereotypical, mean principal, but now she could represents a whole bunch of these (I promise I will not critically analyze this book any further).

I always wanted to be Matilda. Having the ability to control things with my mind is probably the coolest power (well at least I think). And the fact that Matilda was Harvard level while in second grade is beyond crazy. I think I was jealous when I first read this back in elementary school. I was not the sharpest tool in the shed at that age, so you can probably see why.

I read this book in a night. It’s an easy read (almost 200 pages) and has a 3rd maybe 4th grade reading level. I highly recommend this book. I am not a big fan of Dalh other work because they are just a little to strange for me.

Ok so this isn’t much of a review because its pretty hard to review a children’s book but I hope you liked it.

Have any of you read this book?

4/5 Cauldrons

Witches_Cauldron-2

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

Signature Sarah

5 thoughts on “Review: Matilda (re-read challenge)

Leave a Reply

