The TBR Tag

image

The amazing Cristina over at Girl in the Pages nominated me for the TBR Tag a few weeks ago. And yes, I can already sense the judgement about my ginormous and constantly growing TBR pile.

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

I rely on Goodreads to track my TBR pile – I have two shelves dedicated to my TBR pile:

  • to-read shelf: the collection of books that I would like to read at some point, but do not currently own
  • to-read-owned shelf: the books that I own, but haven’t gotten around to quite yet

This definitely comes in handy when I’m at the bookstore and struggling to remember whether or not I own a book.  It’s saved me from double-purchasing books on more than one ocassion!

Is your TBR mostly print or e-books?

My TBR pile is mainly print books.  I generally reserve my nook for cheap chick-flicks that I can purchase for only a few dollars, as opposed to paying $10 for a physical copy of the book.  One of the contributing factors to my preference of print books is the pathetic and steadily-declining battery life on my nook.  Yes, it’s several years old.  And no, it isn’t functioning properly.  And this is not my happy face.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

I belong to a fairly small library system with limited copies of books.  Therefore, after waiting weeks with a book on hold (trust me, being the 32nd person in line for the book is not a fun experience), I tend to read library books as soon as I pick them up.  For non-library books, I tend to read books belonging to series first.  I try to read these books as soon as they are released to minimize my chance of forgetting the preceeding books.

A book that has been on your TBR the longest?

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien.  After a few failed attempts at reading the Lord of the Rings series, I lost quite a bit of hope that I would enjoy this book any better.  With the movies coming out, I should probably get around to it sometime soon… My dad recently gave me the copy he had owned as a child (which turned 50 this year, according to the copyright date), so I’m hoping this will provide me with the incentive to read it!

A book you recently added to your TBR?

Oh Baby, by Randi Reisfeld

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

image

Splintered, by A.G. Howard.  When I first saw the cover on Goodreads, I knew I just had to read it!  The raving reviews I proceeded to read only confirmed my desire to read it!

A book on your TBR you never plan on reading?

This is a tricky one – I try to put only books that I think I’ll eventually read on my TBR shelf.  The book that I’ll likely push off the longest, though, is probably the Secret Life of Bees, by Sue Monk Kidd.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited to read?

The Copper Gauntlet, by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black

Number of books in your TBR?

to-read shelf: 175

to-read-owned shelf: 69

Overall books I wish to read (according to Goodreads): 100 books

Who I’m Tagging:

Marie @ Pages to Explore

Kariny @ Kariny’s Teen Book Frenzy

Jess @ Book Addict’s Bookshelf

Cynthia @ Bingeing on Books

Kathy @ The Novelty of Life

I’m sorry if any of you have already been nominated!  And if I didn’t nominate you, feel free to participate anyway!  Make sure to put a link to your post in the comment section below, and I’ll check it out!

Signature Olivia

8 thoughts on “The TBR Tag

  1. I’m glad you had fun responding to these questions! Your TBR isn’t too bad yet…I’m almost at 300 (for books I’d like the read, not that I already own thank goodness!) I’m actually reading Splintered right now and it’s worth reading, so feel justified in purchasing it for its beautiful cover!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much for nominating me! I have not been nominated yet so I look forward to answering these questions on my blog later this week. Sounds like your TBR is a bit more under control than mine. 🙂

    Like

    • I can’t wait to read your post! 🙂 One of my new years resolutions for 2015 was to limit the number of books that I add to my TBR pile, but I’m not sure how successful this will be in the long run!

      Like

    • I know, it’s horrible! And I keep telling myself that I’m not allowed to watch a book-to-movie adaptation if I haven’t read the accompanying book! And don’t worry, I think we have the same book-buying problem (mine’s really getting out of hand…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

