Discussion: Bookish Habits (the good, the bad, and the ugly)

Discussions

Every reader has their quirks – whether it’s reading while standing on one’s head, atop an elephant, in the pool, or at 3am. While we may be proud of our impressive reading-while-simultaneously-doing-yoga skills (or something of the like), I think we’ve all picked up a few habits we’re not overly fond of… at least I hope I’m not the only one?


The Good

I figured we should start with the good – maybe you won’t judge me too harshly for the remainder of this post if I start by presenting myself in a positive light. Then again, my theory could very well backfire…

  • I like to keep my books in pristine condition (aka, no spine cracking, no folding page corners to mark my place, no haphazardly tossing around paperback books, etc.).  For some strange reason, I love the resulting never-been-read appearance of the books.  If you would like to hear more on this topic, apparate over to my Folding Down Page Corners vs. Using a Bookmark post (and kudos to anyone who understands this reference!).
  • For as long as I can remember, I have always removed the dust covers of hardback books while reading them.  I found that the dust jackets tended to damage easily, so problem solved!
  • In the ongoing debate of physical books vs. ebooks, I’m a firm advocate of physical books.  I still don’t find electronic readers 100% trustworthy.  I always carry a fear in the back of my mind that all of my ebooks will magically disappear one day and never return.  In the case of a physical book, I can be assured that it won’t grow legs and walk away of its own accord.
  • Although most people don’t agree with me on this one, I prefer paperbacks to hardbacks, for a variety of reasons.  Primarily, paperbacks are much more portable – they can easily be thrown in one’s purse (or backpack, bag, personal belongings, knapsack…I think you get the idea) and pulled out at one’s convenience.  Another driving factor is the significant price difference.  Unfortunately, my lack of unlimited funds severely restricts the money I can devote to books, so I may as well try to stretch this amount as far as possible.

 The Bad

  • I’m not overly fond of lending my books to others due to my obsession with keeping them in good condition.  I’m reluctant to lend out books unless I’m confident that they’ll be in good hands.
  • I tend to get a little carried away while placing books on hold at the library.  And, of course, all of these books become available at the exact same time, leading to me checking out twelve or thirteen books simultaneously, which never ends well.
  • When I lose interest in a particular book, I tend to set it aside for a long period of time, reading other books in the interim.  When I finally decide to return to said book, I can’t remember a single plot point and end up rereading it.

The Ugly

  • I often allow my mood while reading to dictate my overall opinion of the book, which significantly influences the number of stars it receives and the tone of the review.
  • I secretly find it much easier to write scathing reviews than complimentary ones – don’t ask me why!  Perhaps it’s because I can sense a rant coming on…
  • I’m an extremely indecisive person, which seems to get on everybody’s nerves (honestly, is it really that pertinent that I make the decision between Italian food and Mexican food?).  Unfortunately, this indecisiveness also carries over to my reading – I struggle when choosing…
    • my next read
    • the number of stars to assign to a book (yes, there is a ginormous difference between three stars and four stars!)
    • how to arrange my bookshelf
    • team Will or team Jem
    • this list could honestly go on and on, but I’ll spare you the misery
  • I’m notorious for borrowing a book from a friend, setting it aside, and picking it up three months later, much to my friends’ annoyance.  And no, sorry, pestering me on a weekly basis will not convince me to start reading it.
  • I’ve saved my most serious issue for last…my obsessive book buying habits.  It’s become a serious problem over the past several years – I just can’t say no!  Would anyone like to participate in book-buying-therapy with me?

I’m sure I’m not alone with my peculiar bookish habits!  What are some of yours?

Signature Olivia

9 thoughts on “Discussion: Bookish Habits (the good, the bad, and the ugly)

  1. Great post! I kind of know what you mean about finding it easier to write negative reviews. I am the same way. For me personally, I think it is because if I LOVE a book so much it can be hard to convey that in words. But when I dislike a book, it’s usually pretty easy for me to say what I didn’t like about it. And I’m sure this is common for everyone, but i cannot stop buying books even though I own so many already! They just keep piling up. Ha

    Like

  2. Great post. I read a lot of ebooks though since the library here is rather small and I would have to pay a few dollars per book for inter-library loan. The digital library is more convenient and a lot cheaper (as in free). When I do buy or receive physical books they are usually paperbacks.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Thank you! It’s great to meet a fellow paperback lover 🙂 Unfortunately, my library doesn’t have an outstanding ebook lending program – the few books that they do have available for ebook download tend to be older and a bit obscure. If they ever develop this program further at some point in the future, I think I would definitely reconsider ebooks!

      Like

  3. My library holds literally ALWAYS come in at the same time too, haha! I used to be that person who checked out like 10 books at a time and returned half of them unread, but I’ve gotten a lot better at that and limit myself to three at a time (and I can’t check any other out until I return one) and it makes for a nice balance and steady rotation. It’s also kept me from accruing late fees, and I’m happy to say I only returned 2 books to the library unread in 2014! I used to buy A LOT of books, and then in college my reading slowed down some so it got better, but since starting my blog last year I’ve found myself buying a lot more again (because you have to read to stay relevant, you know?) I have certain tricks I follow, such as buying paperbacks when I can (even if it means waiting), waiting to buy when I get coupons, and only buying books that I think I’ll like enough to reread (mostly fantasy and paranormal for me, I tend to check out my contemporaries from the library).

    Like

    • I really may have to consider limiting myself to three books at a time – then my only problem will be sticking with it! Late fees have been getting the better of me recently!

      I have to admit, starting my blog has definitely convinced me to purchase more books in the hopes that I would end up reading more. It’s gotten to the point that I have books triple stacked on my shelves! I also love using coupons when I buy books 🙂

      Like

  4. I’m there with you on most of this. The only differences are I prefer ebooks right now because the library near me is in a bad part of town and I’ve run out of space on my shelves and I will obsessively take notes on my English literature books. I cannot keep those books pristine.

    Awesome post!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Sisterhood of The World Blogging Award | Brewing Up Books

  6. Pingback: 2015 Wrap-Up | Brewing Up Books

Leave a Reply

