Discussion: Why do we Read?

Discussions

My good friends at the Oxford Dictionary define reading as the action or skill of reading written or printed matter silently or aloud or my favorite and interpreatation. But why do we read? Is it the same as why we watch tv? Or at least do anything for fun/pleasure?


Reading has always been an escape for me. A book can take you anywhere you want to go without leaving the comfort of bed/couch/etc. But why do we read for pleasure? I mean of course we were forced as children to read necessary school books and write wimpy book reports..but why did we continue to read?

In my old grade school class, I’m pretty sure I was only who like to read for fun. Many people thought that it was a waste of time, or they didn’t have the patience to finish a book. So why are we the special ones that have continued to keep of with reading?

I read because I love to mentally place myself in the book, and pretend that I’m one of the major characters. My fate will only be decided by turning the next page and eagerly beginning to read it. However, I also wonder if one of the reasons that I read is because something is missing from my life, and reading is the only sub-standard thing that can fill the gap. (sorry to get so deep there)

But anyways, I would love to hear your thoughts on this. Comment on why you read.

Signature Sarah

5 thoughts on “Discussion: Why do we Read?

  1. I definitely read as an escape – I enjoy experiencing new things through a story and the characters. I don’t find I identify so much with the main character, although I do like it if I can empathize with them. But for me, reading is different from watching a movie or a TV show (although of course I love doing that as an escape too!) because with reading I feel like I can get caught up in the world more because it’s so much in my head. It’s a different kind of experience, because you have to really imagine it. Great thought-provoking questions! 🙂

    Like

  2. I read because it helps me escape the boring everyday life and makes my commute to/from college interesting…seeing the flawed characters..or someone in books going through the same things as you feels somehow normal..I’d love if the books we read for leisure were the books we are forced to read 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

