Review: Let It Snow

Reviews 2

imageTitle: Let it Snow

Author: Maureen Johnson, John Green, Lauren Myracle

Series: None

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Publish Date: October 2, 2008

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Christmas

Sparkling white snowdrifts, beautiful presents wrapped in ribbons, and multicolored lights glittering in the night through the falling snow. A Christmas Eve snowstorm transforms one small town into a romantic haven, the kind you see only in movies. Well, kinda. After all, a cold and wet hike from a stranded train through the middle of nowhere would not normally end with a delicious kiss from a charming stranger. And no one would think that a trip to the Waffle House through four feet of snow would lead to love with an old friend. Or that the way back to true love begins with a painfully early morning shift at Starbucks. Thanks to three of today’s bestselling teen authors—John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle—the magic of the holidays shines on these hilarious and charming interconnected tales of love, romance, and breathtaking kisses.

“Christmas is never over,unless you want it to be… Christmas is a state of mind.”

 So technically this is a Christmas book, and alas the holiday season is well over, but I read this anyway. I was able to read this book on the three hour bus ride to Washington D.C. this past Thursday. Having limited leg room and trying to block out many conversations, I was able to really enjoy this book. This books consists of three novellas that are all related to each-other, but each have their own distinct story. It was a quick read, but it got me a little depressed because it wasn’t the Christmas season anymore…Anyway let’s get along with the review.

I personally didn’t care for John Green’s novella, and it is breaking my heart as I’m typing this. Usually I love everything that is John Green, along with all of his books, but this one didn’t work for me. I think it might have do with the cheerleader who served as the central focus of the story. (nothing against cheerleaders but I just have bad experiences with them) The characters were okay, nothing special, and the plot was predictable. I might give it another chance next Christmas season, but we will see.

On a happier note, I loved Maureen Johnson’s story. It was so cute and sweet. I really loved how the the main character’s parents were obsessed with Christmas figurines. (My family has a special collection that I’m not allowed to touch) Even though the plot was pretty predictable, I really did enjoy it. Reading this story made me really feel like I was the main character, going through boyfriend troubles, and then discovering the man of my dreams (perfect in every way). I would definitely suggest reading this first novella.

The last novella was also very sweet. I wasn’t able to really get into it, because at this time, I was on the bus ride home and tired after marching to Washington D.C. on the March for Life. I might re-read this again because I honestly don’t really remember the things I was going to write (update to come- pinky promise).

Overall, I really did enjoy this book. It was a great way to spend my bus trip (instead of studying for physics). It was a light story where, thankful, no one dies, no one got seriously injured, and no one has their heart broken. Books likes these are necessary every once in a while to make reading feel less intense and more relaxing. I would love to hear everyone else’s thoughts!

I give it….

4/5 Cauldrons

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

Signature Sarah

4 thoughts on “Review: Let It Snow

  1. I loved Maureen Johnson’s story but I could NOT stand John Green’s! I hated the cheerleader aspect (mainly because they were so objectified) and I was pretty disappointed in the collection, as it all went downhill for me after the first story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved all three novellas. Of course, I read this years ago, so my opinion is likely to change when I read it again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

