Review- Isla and the Happily Ever After

Reviews 2


9627755Title
: Isla and the Happily Ever After

Author: Stephine Perkins

Series: Anna and the French Kiss

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Publish Date: August 14, 2014

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance,

Love ignites in the City That Never Sleeps, but can it last?

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.

“Phones are distracting. The internet is distracting.The way he looked at you? He wasn’t distracted. He was consumed.”

I’ll be honest, I didn’t like this book as much as I should have. I guess I had too high expectations. I mean I loved Anna and the French Kiss, and Lola and the boy Next Door was even better, bit Isla kinda left me disappointed. I wasn’t swooned by the main guy character, Josh, and Isla was kinda annoying. Though the Isla’s best friend, whose name I’m forgetting was a very interesting character.

Isla goes to the same dream French School that Anna used to go to. Josh used to be friends with St. Clair. (Oh the connections). Isla and Josh fall in love quite quickly which was different from Perkins’s previous two books. Everything seemed to be going well, but then their 120 pages left in the book, so something bad was definitely going to happen. Then they decided to go to Spain for the weekend (SHOCKING).

Apparently Isla’s breathing younger sister rated them out when she went into Isla’s room and discovers they weren’t there. Since Josh’s rather is a big congressmen in the States, he had to leave the School for damage control. Then he just totally stopped talking to Isla and Isla made no attempt to contact him. I mean Isla tries once, but it was such a wimpy attempt I shouldn’t even mention it.

Then the book continues on and Isla and Josh run into each other at the place where they first met and suddenly there all forgiving again. They go in date and then they break up, again. This was kinda a weird point in the book because there were only 3 chapters left. The the book goes forward and they’re back from break, in Paris, and Isla decided to go out for dinner with some olds friends. Turns out that Isla was friends with Lola who brought Cricket who invited St. Clair and Anna who invited Josh. The dinner is cute because all my favorite characters were together in one book.

The dinner becomes a little awkward when Josh and Isla are giving each other the silent treatment. But then St. Clair pulls out a ring and then my feels explode. Then Josh and Isla magically get back together and they have a happily ever after. And the book ends.

This book gave me very mixed emotions. It was fast then slow then fast again, then it end. I might give this book another try over the summer. It’s a light book, no one dies, and ever ends up with their significant other. I would recommend this book if you have already read the other two.

I give it….

3/5 Cauldrons

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

Signature Sarah

6 thoughts on “Review- Isla and the Happily Ever After

  1. I definitely did not enjoy this as much as the other two. It was a huge disappointment, in my opinion.

    Like

  2. I read Anna, Lola, and Isla spread out over a long period of time, so I can’t really compare them accurately and rank them. I enjoyed Isla and the Happily Ever After, but I have a gut feeling Anna and the French Kiss is my favorite of the three. However, I probably won’t be rereading these books since I’m not a huge romance (and especially not contemporary romance) kind of reader, so I guess I’ll just have to say they were entertaining but definitely not revolutionary or anything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

