Review: Life as We Knew It

Reviews 2

book reviewTitle: Life as We Knew It

Author: Susan Beth Pfeffer

Series: The Last Survivors

Publisher: Harcourt Children’s Books

Publish Date: October 1, 2006

Genres: Contemporary, Post Apocalyptic, YA, Survival

Miranda’s disbelief turns to fear in a split second when a meteor knocks the moon closer to the earth. How should her family prepare for the future when worldwide tsunamis wipe out the coasts, earthquakes rock the continents, and volcanic ash blocks out the sun? As summer turns to Arctic winter, Miranda, her two brothers, and their mother retreat to the unexpected safe haven of their sunroom, where they subsist on stockpiled food and limited water in the warmth of a wood-burning stove.

“We may not have a future, but you can’t deny we have a past.”

Oh My goodness this book. One word that would describe this would be Intense, intense and heartbreaking. My old friend was required to read this for her freshman year English class, that should have been my first clue. Usually most books that are requires for school english class are either written in the 1800s, sad, tragic, depressing, or a combination of the four. This book would be a mixture of the last three. This book is a apart of a series that i may r may not read. I read this book via audio book from my library and I have to see if they have the remain books also in audio book. I think my heart/soul will be crushed if I actually read the book.

The book is written through diary entires. The first chapter, it made known that the moon was hit by a comet (a really big one). This caused the moon to move a little to close to Earth. This shift caused massive earthquakes, tsunamis, and volcanic eruptions. Thousands of people die instantly, and we soon figures that million of more will die of natural disasters, hypothermia, starvation, and even the common cold. This book was so realistic. I feel like this could actually be way on how the Earth dies. I know its dark thing to think about, but I’m sure it won’t happen in lifetime. (I’m also sure that the science side of wordpress can explain it better). The main character Miranda has to adjust to a new life which includes limited food intake, no running water, no electricity, and barely any heat. She also has to deal with loss of many people close to her and how to stay mentally sane when her entire family is on the verge of death.

Miranda, is probably he strongest female literary character I’ve read so far. Life as We Knew It isn’t a dystopian novel, nor does take place in a futuristic city, (nor do the character have weird names: Looking at you Katniss). It can be argues that Miranda goes through all the stages of an epic Hero. She has to go overcome a struggle, given an aid (her bike/skates), and eventually rediscovers herself. Miranda goes through many hardships tragedies, but in the end she realizes that all she really needs is the love of her family to get by in life. Even though she see so much suffering in her changes world, she realizes her family is the only thins that is constant.  Even though they fight over food, worth (which become vital) they realize that they only have each other left, and they ness to treasure that.

I would strongly recommend this book. It is a very, very emotional book. I listen to this via audiobook, mostly on my way to school. Over the past two weeks, I came into school very upset. There are so many emotional wrenching parts, that my little heart just couldn’t handle. However this very mature book. I would not read it if you get easily troubles, or on your period, (speaking from experience).

This book is apart of a series. I haven’t done much research on them so I’m not sure if I will read them (lol they’re probably apart of a trilogy). At the rate that this book went, I’m not sure if I can emotionally stand the rest of the books. I will have to check if my local library carries them in audiobook. If they don’t I probably won’t read them. Well I’m not sure..only time will tell. I would love to know your thought on it if you have read of if I should read it the next book in the series.

I give it a:

4/5 Cauldrons

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Signature Sarah

4 thoughts on “Review: Life as We Knew It

  1. I love this book! The sequel – The Dead and the Gone is good too because it takes place at the same time only in New York. The other two books after that I wasn’t as thrilled with, but these first two are great!

    Like

  2. Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever. I have read it countless times and now that I’ve read your review I want to read it again! I’ve read the rest of the series — there are four books in all. But I have to say that the only one really worth reading is LAWKI. Book 2, The Dead and the Gone, is just so terribly dark and grim and sad that I didn’t get any joy out of it. If you got emotional from LAWKI, I don’t recommend continuing on… I also read book 3, which I liked somewhat, but it was nothing in comparison to LAWKI. And book four — holy ravioli, that book was a train wreck that had me infuriated and probably made me want to throw the book across the room. I hated the fourth book — I don’t know what the author was thinking! — so you should definitely pretend this is a trilogy and not a quartet because REASONS. So. I’ll end my little rant now and say that you’ve experienced the best in the series and I’m so super glad you really liked it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read this book ages ago! And have read it almost every year ever since! it is breathtakingly amazing adn im so glad i found someone else who loved it as much as i did! AND I DIDNT EVEN KNOW THIS WAS A SERIES! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
    -sophiadeanne.blogspot.com

    Like

  4. um this book was trash. first of all, a meteorite (the book describes as “much smaller than the moon”) could not possibly knock the moon out of orbit. Thus, the moon couldn’t just get knocked towards the moon *and keep going*. Another thing, i understand that the moon getting closer to the earth could affect the tides, but tides and tsunamis are *not tied*. So how are huge tsunamis being created because of this fake moon incident? Answer: they’re not. it’s stupid. Also, gas prices are all of a sudden being raised to $12?? People are starving from famine and running out of food??? What is this? How did all of the food magically disappear just because the moon got pushed closer the earth??

    Some may argue that it is a science *fiction* book, and not everything has to be 100% accurate. But at least do a little bit of research! Don’t just throw random things into your book just to make it sound cooler/scarier! Not to mention, the writing in this book could have easily been by a 5th grader.

    Okay, that’s my little rant. If you liked the book, good on you. I hated it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

