That’s What He Said Thursday: 2/12/15

That's What He Said

Every Thursday, Chapter Breaks hosts That’s What HE Said Thursday.  This weekly meme allows bloggers to post a favorite line from a book boyfriend to his heroine (direct quotes only, not a physical description).  For more information about this meme, click here.


With Valentine’s Day right around the corner, who better to write about than my ultimate book boyfriend: Will Herondale.  He’s known for his witty remarks and quick comebacks (who doesn’t love a good sense of humor?).  While he can come off as bit crude, particularly in front of strangers, readers get a glimpse of his true character beneath this cleverly devised and upheld facade.  Underneath this mask, he’s perfect in every manner – kind, loving, caring, gentle – I could go on with the adoring adjectives, but I think you get the idea.

Will’s quotes never fail to make me smile, and so, on this oh-so-disappointly-not-quite-Friday morning, I figured I’d brighten everyone’s day with a few of my favorites, because, quite frankly, you can’t just stop at one:

“Ah,” said a voice from the doorway, “having your annual ‘everyone thinks Will is a lunatic’ meeting, are you?
“It’s biannual,” said Jem. “And no, this is not that meeting.”


“Are you implying that shreds of my reputation remain intact?” Will demanded with mock horror. “Clearly I have been doing something wrong. Or not something wrong, as the case may be.”

He banged on the side of the carriage. “Thomas! We must away at once to the nearest brothel. I seek scandal and low companionship.”


“Trains are great dirty smoky things,” said Will. “You won’t like it.”

Tessa was unmoved. “I won’t know if I like it until I try it, will I?”
“I’ve never swum naked in the Thames before, but I know I wouldn’t like it.”
“But think how entertaining for sightseers,” said Tessa.


Will looked at him in puzzlement. “Is this a game? We just blurt out whatever word comes next to mind? In that case mine is ‘genuphobia’. It means an unreasonable fear of knees.”

“What’s the word for a perfectly reasonable fear of annoying idiots?” inquired Jessamine.


“I shall charm him with such force that when I am done, he will be left lying limply on the ground, trying to remember his own name.”


“Will rose slowly to his feet. He could not believe he was doing what he was doing, but it was clear that he was, clear as the silver rim around the black of Jem’s eyes. “If there is a life after this one,” he said, “let me meet you in it, James Carstairs.”

“There will be other lives.” Jem held his hand out, and for a moment, they clasped hands, as they had done during their parabatai ritual, reaching across twin rings of fire to interlace their fingers with each other. “The world is a wheel,” he said. “When we rise or fall, we do it together.”

Will tightened his grip on Jem’s hand, which felt thin as twigs in his. “Well, then,” he said, through a tight throat, “since you say there will be another life for me, let us both pray I do not make as colossal a mess of it as I have this one.”
― Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Princess

On a much more serious and heartbreaking note, I just had to include Will’s love letter to Tessa:

“Tess, Tess, Tessa.

Was there ever a more beautiful sound than your name? To speak it aloud makes my heart ring like a bell. Strange to imagine that, isn’t it – a heart ringing – but when you touch me that is what it is like: as if my heart is ringing in my chest and the sound shivers down my veins and splinters my bones with joy.

Why have I written these words in this book? Because of you. You taught me to love this book where I had scorned it. When I read it for the second time, with an open mind and heart, I felt the most complete despair and envy of Sydney Carton. Yes, Sydney, for even if he had no hope that the woman he loved would love him, at least he could tell her of his love. At least he could do something to prove his passion, even if that thing was to die.

I would have chosen death for a chance to tell you the truth, Tessa, if I could have been assured that death would be my own. And that is why I envied Sydney, for he was free.

And now at last I am free, and I can finally tell you, without fear of danger to you, all that I feel in my heart.

You are not the last dream of my soul.

You are the first dream, the only dream I ever was unable to stop myself from dreaming. You are the first dream of my soul, and from that dream I hope will come all other dreams, a lifetime’s worth.

With hope at least,
Will Herondale”

Who are some of your book boyfriends that you’ll be spending this Valentine’s Day with?

Signature Olivia

6 thoughts on “That’s What He Said Thursday: 2/12/15

Leave a Reply

