Review: Our Beautiful Child 

Reviews 2

imageTitle: Our Beautiful Child

Author: Annalisa Crawford

Series: None

Publisher: Battered Suitcase Press

Publish Date: June 2014

Genres: Realistic Fiction, Horror

“The Boathouse collects misfits. Strange solitary creatures that yearn for contact with the outside world, but not too much. They sit, glass in hand, either staring at the table in front of them, or at some distant point on the horizon.” … so says the narrator of Our Beautiful Child. And he’s been around long enough to know. People end up in this town almost by accident. Ella is running away from her nightmares, Sally is running away from the memories of previous boyfriends and Rona is running away from university. Each of them seek sanctuary in the 18th century pub, The Boathouse; but in fact, that’s where their troubles begin. Ella finds love, a moment too late; Rona discovers a beautiful ability which needs refining before she gets hurt; and Sally meets the captivating Murray, who threatens to ruin everything. Three women. Three stories. One pub.

“The Boathouse collects misfits: strange, solitary creatures that yearn for contact with the outside world, but not too much.”

This book was very interesting. I would classified as horror fiction but not like ghosts or gore horror but more like realistic horror that keeps you up at night. It was first in its kind that I read, so I don’t have have much to go on but I’ll give it my best.

The book consist of three novellas that are all intertwined with each other. The first one revolves around Ella, who is preoccupied with death, the Rona who has bitten of more that she could chew, and Sally who is always running away. All three of these girls troubles worsen when they are inside, the Boathouse, the local pub of the English town in which everything goes wrong. Okay I don’t want to do a complete synopsis because this books has to many twist and turns its not worth spoiling it.

Okay on with the review. I really did enjoy this book, the writing was very good for the most part but sometimes I had to re-read parts because I got confused on what was happening with the story. Also another issue I had with the book is that sometimes the plot were too similar. Since the book focuses on three young women, it was sometimes confusing on which women’s life I was reading. Okay now for the parts I liked. I loved the mysterious factor the book gives from the first page. Each women has something very wrong, but you can’t just put your finger on it. Each women again had something just a little off, which made you wonder how many people who know might be a tad off. I think my favorite part of this book is a realness (I hope that is a real word, spell check don’t lie) of it. All three of the women seemed like ordinary people. I mean Ella could have been your co-worker of Sally could have been a friend passing through. And I think this aspect of the book is what sacred me the most. I would recommend this book if you like to think outside of the box. This not the book for you if your just looking for a filler.

If any of you guys have read this I would love to hear your thoughts on this

**I was contacted by the author to read and write a review. I was not paid for this review and this is my honest non biased review and take on her book

I give it a..

4/5 Cauldrons

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Signature Sarah

Leave a Reply

