Review: Champion

Reviews 2

imageTitle: Champion

Author: Marie Lu

Series: Legend Series

Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons

Publish Date: November 5, 2013

Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

“Hi,” he says. “I’m Daniel.”

“Hi,” I reply. “I’m June.”

Okay, I know I have been slacking, and I’m sorry for that (really, I am). As promised by my Instagram post (brewingupbooks), here is my review of Champion by Marie Lu.

Boy, did this book make my heart hurt. I was very surprised how much I enjoyed this book. Usually for me, the final books in series are bittersweet or just a disappoint (looking at you Mockingjay and Allegiant). But we finally did get closure for Day and June.

Day is literally the perfect book boyfriend. Sure, he is a little rough around the edges, but I can work with that. We really see him come full circle as he continues to put his family before himself. Because of those actions, we see a more humble side of him, not the hero/traitor the Republic makes him out to be.

For June, we see a complete character change since Legend. She realizes her love for Day and that just made my heart melt. After Prodigy, I was not sure what Champion would bring, but I was excited. June could get annoying, though, especially went it came to her dog, There are many times in the book where she has to evacuate, and she must have her dog. Now, I am not a pet owner, so might have no right to say this, BUT think about the human lives she was risking to save her dog. I strongly do not believe that a human life should be threatened to save a pet’s life. Now, I know some of you guys have pets who are your children, and that’s okay, I get that; I just found it annoying. June also has this bad habit of acting like an idiot at times. I know this is harsh, but she always tries to avoid her problems (which is not okay). When she gets separated from Day ( I won’t include the details), she just stops and forgets what she had with him. When Tess becomes an issue, she doesn’t do anything. Okay, maybe you guys have different opinions, but that’s what I think.

The Legend Series took quite a different take on the love triangle. The third point (Anden) wasn’t really developed until the second book. Sure, he was mention in Legend, but I felt it was not that big of a deal. I first thought Anden was just a spoiled little rich kid. He had to take over his dad’s job and was going to be no different from his father. However, I was surprisingly wrong. He hated what his father did to their country. He was appalled by the nation was and vowed for change. Anden really did break the stereotypical third wheel. He was caring, sweet, and thoughtful. The only difference between Day and Anden was dependency. Anden is and was always there for June, always putting her first. Day, however, needed his brother as much as he needed June.

The epilogue by far was the best part of the book. It just summed everything up brutally and brought closure to the series. I’m very sad that this series is over, but kinda happy that I’ve finished yet another trilogy. September, please come sooner so I can read the sequel to the Young Elites..pretty pretty please.

I give it a..

4/5 Cauldrons

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Signature Sarah

Leave a Reply

