Monthly Rewind: May 2015

Monthly Rewind

General

Before we jump into our Monthly Rewind, we wanted to formally introduce a new blogger who will be joining us here at Brewing Up Books: congratulations Megan!  She’ll be a full time author/contributor to the blog, and she’s currently trying to figure out how to operate WordPress, so bear with her!  If you’d like to read a little bit more about her, click here or visit her goodreads.

May was a hectic month for all of us, with AP exams, finals, turning in assignments, etc.  While we didn’t post as frequently as we had wanted to, we’re now on summer vacation and will have significantly more free time on our hands.

While this past month was primarily dedicated to school, we did have some fun!  Sarah and I (Olivia) went to the Devon Horse Show last week with a group of friends (Sarah and I are on the far left):

image

Unfortunately, we were there when Cambridge died and were sitting right at the jump when it happened.  Our hearts go out to both the rider and owner.

I (Sarah) recently went shopping at the King of Prussia Mall. It was much-needed after the stress of finals and life in general. I bought some stuff at LUSH cosmetics (probably more than I should have). The very nice sales associate gave me some samples and such, so I will probably be back there soon. I also will be starting some summer work which will be great. It is always good to get out of the house and do something productive with my life. But now that June has begun, I also need to work on college applications. Though necessary, I’m really not looking forward on doing them. Future Sarah…good luck

Favorite ReadsOlivia

I read The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks for the Read a Spark and I absolutely loved it!  I had been wanting to see the movie, but I couldn’t bring myself to watch it without having read the book.  I think one of the most enticing aspects of the book, at least for me, was the setting – it took place in the country (on a ranch, in particular), which I can relate to, having lived on a farm.  And, most importantly, it didn’t tear my heart in half and stomp all over it like the majority of Nicholas Sparks books – it actually had a happy ending!  And it was the perfect way to start the summer!

Sarah

Okay, to be honest, I didn’t read anything in May besides the Hiding Place (review here) because I was so busy.

Reviews

Books

Movies

Other Posts

Question of the Month

Where are you most likely to read?

Olivia

I often read in bed, either right before I fall asleep or right after I’ve woken up (basically really early in the morning). During the summer, I like to read outside with my dogs, but I can’t forget the sunscreen!  I have a pretty fair complexion that goes from blindingly white to fire engine red in the course of a few seconds.

Sarah

My bed is probably my favorite place to read. I have a special pillow that relieves neck pressure when I’m in a sitting position….(NERD).  I also like to read by my pool, usually in the evening (pale skin is not ideal in the sun). I also love to listen to audio books while I am working out.

What about all of you – where do you typically read?

Image of the Month

IMG_0042

Next MonthOlivia’s TBR Pile:

  • Altered, by Jennifer Rush
  • Angelfall, by Susan Ee
  • Anna Dressed in Blood, by Kendare Blake
  • Shadow and Bone, by Leigh Bardugo
  • Siege and Storm, by Leigh Bardugo
  • The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, by Michelle Hodkin

Sarah’s TBR Pile:

  • My Life Next Door, by Huntley Fitzpatrick
  • Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon
  • Dragonfly in Amber, by Diana Gabaldon
  • The Lucky One, Nicholas Sparks
  • Song of Solomon, by Toni Morrison

Signature Sarah and Olivia

3 thoughts on “Monthly Rewind: May 2015

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap (1) | Brewing Up Books

Leave a Reply

