Sarah’s Most Anticipated Summer Reads

Totally Pointless

Since summer is here (at least for me, anyway) it’s time to figure out my TBR pile for the summer. So here it goes….

1. Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon

imageI actually stumbled across this book by accident. One night, I found myself scrolling mindlessly through the tv channels and found this show on the Stars premium channel. I then found myself instantly hooked. I watched two episodes (to my surprise, there were no commercials) and loved it. I then saw in the credits that it was based on the book by Babaldon. I became determined to read this book. Than I found out it was the first book in a 8-part series. I am about 20% into the first book already, and it is so good! Everything about it is amazing! I am so excited to read this series and watch the show. Warning: if you want to watch the show, it does follow the book pretty closely, but be warned it has the same type of screen play as Game of Thrones…if you catch my drift.

Goodreads Summary: The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Goodreads link 

2. Dragonfly in Amber

5364This is the second book in the Outlander series that I hope to read. I’ve read nothing but great reviews for the sequel. Stars will make the second tv series based off this book. Just read above for my thoughts.

Goodreads Summary: With her now-classic novel Outlander, Diana Gabaldon introduced two unforgettable characters — Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser—delighting readers with a story of adventure and love that spanned two centuries. Now Gabaldon returns to that extraordinary time and place in this vivid, powerful follow-up to Outlander….

For twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets. But now she is returning with her grown daughter to Scotland’s majestic mist-shrouded hills. Here Claire plans to reveal a truth as stunning as the events that gave it birth: about the mystery of an ancient circle of standing stones … about a love that transcends the boundaries of time … and about James Fraser, a Scottish warrior whose gallantry once drew a young Claire from the security of her century to the dangers of his….

Now a legacy of blood and desire will test her beautiful copper-haired daughter, Brianna, as Claire’s spellbinding journey of self-discovery continues in the intrigue-ridden Paris court of Charles Stuart … in a race to thwart a doomed Highlands uprising … and in a desperate fight to save both the child and the man she loves….

Goodreads link

3. The Heir, by Kiera Cass

22918050I loved the first three books. It only took my about 5 days to read all of them, including the novellas. I find the plot interesting, however the love story is very predicable. I’m still a little bitter that Aspen got kicked to the curb in the third book but that’s a whole other post. The Heir is about America and Maxon’s daughter. It explains the troubles of the new country and the struggles they encounter. I really hope it is as good as the others were.

Goodreads Summary: Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

Goodreads link

4. Wonder, by R.J. Palacio

23302416This book has been on my tbr list ever since I made a goodreads account. Wonder is about a boy who is made fun about the unique scar on his face. It is children’s book but has a great message. I recently bought it the last time I was at Barnes and Noble, and I’m really excited to read it. It looks like it will be a pretty quick. I’m not exactly sure what to expect from this book, but I will keep you all posted.

Goodreads SummaryYou can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August Pullman wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old. He does ordinary things. He eats ice cream. He plays on his Xbox. He feels ordinary – inside.

But Auggie is far from ordinary. Ordinary kids don’t make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. Ordinary kids don’t get stared at wherever they go.

Born with a terrible facial abnormality, Auggie has been home-schooled by his parents his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, he’s being sent to a real school – and he’s dreading it. All he wants is to be accepted – but can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, underneath it all?

Narrated by Auggie and the people around him whose lives he touches forever, Wonder is a funny, frank, astonishingly moving debut to read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.

Goodreads Link: 

5. American Sniper, by Chris Kyle

11887020This is going to be a hard read for me. I recently saw the movie and I couldn’t make it all the way through it, I got too emotional. I guess this is a very deep read as well. Chirs Kyle had the highest military record for number of kills by a sniper. Coming from a military family, I can sort of grasp what the family must have gone through, but not really. Hopefully I’m going to read this book all the way through, but we will see.

Goodreads Summary: From 1999 to 2009, U.S. Navy SEAL Chris Kyle recorded the most career sniper kills in United States military history. The Pentagon has officially confirmed more than 150 of Kyle’s kills (the previous American record was 109), but it has declined to verify the astonishing total number for this book. Iraqi insurgents feared Kyle so much they named him al-Shaitan (“the devil”) and placed a bounty on his head. Kyle earned legendary status among his fellow SEALs, Marines, and U.S. Army soldiers, whom he protected with deadly accuracy from rooftops and stealth positions. Gripping and unforgettable, Kyle’s masterful account of his extraordinary battlefield experiences ranks as one of the great war memoirs of all time.

A native Texan who learned to shoot on childhood hunting trips with his father, Kyle was a champion saddle-bronc rider prior to joining the Navy. After 9/11, he was thrust onto the front lines of the War on Terror, and soon found his calling as a world-class sniper who performed best under fire. He recorded a personal-record 2,100-yard kill shot outside Baghdad; in Fallujah, Kyle braved heavy fire to rescue a group of Marines trapped on a street; in Ramadi, he stared down insurgents with his pistol in close combat. Kyle talks honestly about the pain of war—of twice being shot and experiencing the tragic deaths of two close friends.

American Sniper also honors Kyles fellow warriors, who raised hell on and off the battlefield. And in moving first-person accounts throughout, Kyles wife, Taya, speaks openly about the strains of war on their marriage and children, as well as on Chris.

Adrenaline-charged and deeply personal, American Sniper is a thrilling eyewitness account of war that only one man could tell.

Goodreads Link: 

6. It’s Kind of a Funny Story, by Ned Vizzini

248704This has also been on tbr list for quite sometime. My friend recommended this book, and she told me it really changed her perspective on life. This book goes into the harmful affects anxiety can have on a person. I remember the first time I read the synopsis, I knew that I had to get my hands on it. It looks like a fun but serious read, and I also will probably rent the movie after I’m done reading it. I will definitely keep you posted about it!

Goodreads Summary: Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life – which means getting into the right high school to get into the right job. But once Craig aces his way into Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional High School, the pressure becomes unbearable. He stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself.

Craig’s suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbors include a transsexual sex addict, a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio. There, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety.

Ned Vizzini, who himself spent time in a psychiatric hospital, has created a remarkably moving tale about the sometimes unexpected road to happiness.

Goodreads Link:

7. Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl, by Jesse Andrews

12700353I actually never heard of this book until two weeks ago. The trailer for the upcoming movie was shown before the Pitch Perfect 2 movie. The film won several awards at the Sundance Film Festival. After doing some research, I saw that the film was based on this book, and I was determined to read it. I don’t know very much about this book, so I’m very excited to read start!

Goodreads Summary: Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.

Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.

Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.

Goodreads Link

Well I hope you all liked my summer picks. I would love to hear your opinions about this.

SarahSarah
I am a senior in high school, which is still hard to believe. Reading is one of my passions, and I wouldn’t be where I am today without it. I am also a karate instructor, avid musician, and full time nerd. Between all these activities, I still find some time to read and blog. Hopefully between mental health days and vacations, I will read and re-read all of my favorites. And remember: Keep Calm and Carry On!
Connect With Me:
5 thoughts on “Sarah’s Most Anticipated Summer Reads

  1. I just finished reading Wonder last week and it’s so good! It’s a really sweet, heartwarming, bittersweet story that I think more kids should read because its message is powerful. Happy reading!

    Like

  2. Great list. I have not read American Sniper the book, but I have seen the movie. It was a great movie. Nonfiction is a bit of a hit or miss with me. but I would still like to read the book.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Recap (2) | Brewing Up Books

  4. Pingback: First Blogiversary | Brewing Up Books

Leave a Reply

