Top Ten Tuesday: Classics I Should Have Read by Now

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week was a freeby, and since I decided I want to read some more classics in the future, I decided to go with the top 10 ones that I should probably have read already!

1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
I did start this. Like 4 years ago. When my English wasn’t nearly good enough, so I gave up after about 20 pages. I have all of Jane Austen’s novels on my shelf though, so I will be getting to that soon!

2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
We read excerpts of this one in English class and I LOVED them, so I don’t think it’ll be too long before I pick this one up either. I have the ebook for this one as well.

3. Frankenstein by Mary Shelly
After reading and loving Dracula I feel like I should definitely get to this one soon. Hooray for gothic horror!

4. The Secret History by Donna Tartt
This, and also The Goldfinch, but I’ve heard that Secret History is better, so I’m probably a bit more excited for that.

5.  The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
I read the first two books in the series, it’s definitely time to read the other five!

6. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
Again, we read some stuff by Dickens in English class (mainly excerpts from Hard Times), and it made me really fall in love with his writing style. I have this book on my kindle and I’m sure I’ll get to it at some point in the winter maybe?

7. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
I’m a huge fan of the film, and I’ve had the ebook for years, but it’s just so huge and intimidating D: Maybe I’ll start it before the end of the year. Probably not.

8. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
Do I even need to explain this one? The LOTR series is a bit too intimidating for me, but you’d think I could manage The Hobbit, especially since it’s already on my shelf! Well, I haven’t yet…

9. anything by Margaret Atwood
I heard she is amazing, so I wanna try her out. Have absolutely no clue where to start though, haha

10. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Pretty self-explanatory yet again – and I also own a copy of this book. Why havan’t I read it yet? God knows…

Have you read any of these and did you like them? Tell me about the classics you should probably have read already!

imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Classics I Should Have Read by Now

  1. Omg I’ve actually read a book on a classics list for once!!! I never read classics so I’m right there with you, haven’t have read all the classics I should of by this point! I’ve only read Narnia from this list and it is amazing!! Great idea for a list 😄

    Like

  2. I haven’t read any of these.. aghh this is so embarrassing. I totally don’t know why haven’t we read these before? I own most of these, but they still remain unread on my shelves hahaha

    GREAT LIST!♥

    Jumana @ Books by Jay

    Like

    • Thanks! And yes, I totally get you… I own so many but I’ve only read so few… And I honestly have no idea why I don’t just grab and read them… 😀 We’re terrible readers haha

      Like

  3. This is a great list of Classics to read. I have to admit that I have not yet read Pride and Prejudice though I do have a copy sitting on my bookshelf staring at me.
    I adore the Chronicles of Narnia. They are all great. I hope you love them when you get to them!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Amanda

    Like

    • As I said, I’ve read the first two and I’ve loved them, so I don’t doubt that I’ll like the rest as well!
      Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Like

  4. Awesome list! I have been trying to incorporate more classics into my reading as well. This year, I read both Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre for the first time. I was not a huge fan of Pride and Prejudice, but I LOVED Jane Eyre. And Margaret Atwood is one of my favorite authors. I read her book The Handmaid’s Tale last year and I have been slowly working my way through all of her books. She is so good. If I were you, I would start with The Handmaid’s Tale. That is her best work, for sure.

    Like

    • Ohh, thanks for the long comment! I absolutely adored the bits we read from Jane Eyre, so I don’t doubt that I’ll like the book one I actually get around to reading it. And with Pride and Prejudice, I’ll admit that I didn’t understand everything back when I first started it, but I was also quite bored, so I think I might be similar to you 😀 I’ve heard that The Handmaid’s Tale is amazing, but sometimes I’m a bit scared to start with an author’s best/most popular work, because I feel like I might not enjoy the other ones as much after that… Atwood is definitely very high on my list though, so I’m sure I’ll get to her soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

