Review: Pivot Point

Book Review


11988046Title
: Pivot Point

Author: Kasie West

Publisher: Harper Teen

Publish Date: February 12th 2013

Genres: YA, Paranormal

Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier…

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through… and who she can’t live without.

Pivot Point is one of the many books I bought and then left to rot on my shelf for years. I actually bought this book right after it came out, but it took me pretty much exactly two years until I actually got around to reading it.

Now, I have to say that I read a couple of very underwhelming YA books before Pivot Point, and I was getting tired and fed up with it, quite frankly. I initially picked Pivot Point up in order to finally get done with all the “stupid YA books” that had been sitting on my shelf for ages, so I could move on and buy more “sophisticated” stuff (what a load of crap, I know, but come on, we all have these phases). I will say upfront that this duology has blown my mind and definitely put me back on the YA train a bit. That being said, I still don’t like how similar many of the YA books coming out at the moment are, but this series definitely managed to make me believe that there are many, many good YA books out there. You’ll probably be like “uhm but why did u only give it three stars then” – or you might not because you haven’t actually looked at the rating yet. Spoiler alert: I gave it three stars. Let me explain.

For the first couple of pages, I was just rolling my eyes at the story. Of course the main character, Addie, was the kick ass sarcastic teen who absolutely loves books and always feels a bit out of place but is amazing nevertheless. Not to mention her best friend, Laila who is oh so much prettier than her and all the boys like her better and she gets all the attention and geez, life is hard. And then there’s Duke, the super hot football quarterback who isn’t even a jerk but actually the nicest guy ever and head over heels for Addie, the utterly unremarkable (but still amazing) girl.
If you have read the book, you will know why this stopped bothering me towards the end. If you haven’t – well, read it to find out, but just know that I wasn’t annoyed by that anymore after a while. Yay secrets.
Addie definitely grew on me as the story progressed, and I can’t exactly say why but I’ve read some reviews saying the same, so I’m guessing it’s just good character development. Laila didn’t really grow on me until book two, but more of that in my review for Split Second, which will follow soon!
I also have to admit I gushed over Trevor, so yup, the duology definitely has swoon worthy characters in it (especially Split Second ahhh, I just want to talk about that book now).

The whole concept of mind powers and Addie being able to see two different paths was pretty cool and I really enjoyed reading about it. The narrative switches between the two different paths Addie is exploring in this book each chapter, and a lot of the times chapters would end in cliffhangers that made me want to skip the chapter from the other path, but at the same time I didn’t because I knew that chapter would be awesome as well. You get my struggle.

One thing that massively annoyed me in this book was the lack of world building. There was next to no explanation about WHY that super secretive corrupt compound even existed, and why mind powers had to be kept secret from “normal” people under any circumstances. It was quite frustrating, especially since the book is quite short as it is, so there would have been room to explain some more. And I definitely wouldn’t have minded some more Trevor time.

As for the twists in this book – no, I didn’t see them coming. But that doesn’t mean the book isn’t predictable, I’m just literally the worst with plot twists. They have to be really, REALLY f*ing obvious for me to notice them. I don’t know why that is and I’m ashamed. Don’t tell anyone.

Lastly (crap, why can’t I ever write short texts) I really liked how fast-paced this book was. I flew through it and ended up really enjoying it. The writing was nothing too special and the lack of world building  was a huge flaw for me, but I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who hasn’t read it yet. Especially because book 2 is even better. And it has Connor in it. I’m going to go write my review for Split Second right now because I can’t keep my feeling in any longer. You should go read this book. Thank me after book 2.

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

3/5 Cauldrons


imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
4 thoughts on “Review: Pivot Point

  1. I had almost the exact same feelings about this book!! Split Second is sitting unread on my bookshelf but your hints that it’s better then Pivot Point has got me wanting to pick it up right now!!! Especially if there’s more cute moments with Trevor!!!! Okay you’ve just got me excited now – I’m going to pick it up the second I finish my current book!!! Great review!! 😄😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Do it!!!! 😀 I liked it a lot better than the first book especially because the characters were even more awesome, and it had some great twists as well (which I obviously didn’t see coming at all, I really don’t understand why I’m so bad with plot twists, haha).
      It’s also just as fast paced as Pivot Point, I read it in one day, so you’ll probably fly through it!
      Thanks 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m definitely going to now!!! I’ve been meaning to pick it up anyways, I GEUSS I was just waiting to get this level excited about it!!!!

        Like

  2. Pingback: 2015 Wrap-Up | Brewing Up Books

Leave a Reply

