Discussion: Taking Books to College / Uni

Discussion

It’s that time of the year for many of us at the moment – moving away from home to go to College or to University. I’m leaving for England on Thursday, and I guess I should finally start packing, but here I am, writing blog posts instead.

Good thing I can at least write about packing, because obviously books will still be a big part of my life at uni, and I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about how to get my bookshelf to a different country.
How many books you can actually take with you probably depends on how far away you’ll be moving from home. I’m going to a different country, but fortunately my dad’s taking me there in our car, so I can take a lot more books that I could if I was flying.
From what I’ve gathered it’s similar in the US, even though many people move to a different state for college, their parents often take them there, right?

So yeah, when I chose which books to take with me, I asked myself these questions:

How many books can I physically take with me?
Since I’m not travelling by plane, I don’t really have any luggage restrictions, and theoretically I can take however many books fit in our car. Unfortunately, books won’t be the most important thing I’ll be taking, so I’ll probably fill up the car with clothes and kitchen stuff first, and then hope that there’s enough room left for my books.
Of course I also had to think about how much room I’ll have for my books at uni and well… Probably not enough. But who cares. I can stack them on the floor.

Which books do I actually take?
I thought about this for a while. Do I take all my books? Or just my unread ones? Do I take my unread ones and a couple of all time favourites? In the end I decided that I will be bringing all my unread books (if they fit into the car, fingers crossed) and The Book Thief. Because that’s my favourite book of all time and I just like having that on my bedside table. I don’t think I’ll actually have a bedside table at uni, but you get the idea…..

I’m planning on taking the books I read during the school year back with me when I go home for holidays, because I don’t know if my dad will come up again to pick me up in summer and I might have to travel by plane then, so I wouldn’t be able to take as many books back with me at the end of the school year. And the thought of dozens of my books in some storage place in a different country quite frankly fills me with dread. But let’s be honest, I’ll probably buy a lot of books while I’m there, so really I have no idea how it’ll all work out. Oh well. That won’t stop me from taking my books with me.

Have you moved to college or uni before or are you doing it soon? How did you decide what books to take with you and how did you get them there? J

imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
9 thoughts on “Discussion: Taking Books to College / Uni

  1. The current college I go to is only half an hour from my parents’ (next year it will be a longer drive), so I don’t really have that big of a problem. I have about half of my unread books here, but I can always go back and get more books. Something I do often, since all of my books get shipped to my parents.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohh, you’re lucky then! I’d probably do the same if I lived that close to my parents, but since I’m going to a different country I want to take as many of my babies with me as I can 😀

      Like

  2. Definitely interesting to see others’ perspectives on this. When I was in this position, I actually didn’t take any books with me (!) and ended up building a new, small collection during the time I was at uni. It kinda formed a nice time capsule of what I read during the time. But I’m moving again soon, and hoping to take a few favorites with me this time around, as well as some unread books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. generally I think I would agree with you, TBR’s plus a few all time favourites for comfort more than anything else!! knowing me I would also probably end up buying a few more “to read during the trip” (that actually for the most part wouldn’t get read for like 2 months)!! I also fully agree with you that The Book Thief is AMAZING

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

