Review: Split Second

Book Review

 

15792316Title: Split Second

Author: Kasie West

Publisher: Harper Teen

Publish Date: February 11th 2014

Genres: YA, Paranormal

Life can change in a split second.

Addie hardly recognizes her life since her parents divorced. Her boyfriend used her. Her best friend betrayed her. She can’t believe this is the future she chose. On top of that, her ability is acting up. She’s always been able to Search the future when presented with a choice. Now she can manipulate and slow down time, too… but not without a price.

When Addie’s dad invites her to spend her winter break with him, she jumps at the chance to escape into the Norm world of Dallas, Texas. There she meets the handsome and achingly familiar Trevor. He’s a virtual stranger to her, so why does her heart do a funny flip every time she sees him? But after witnessing secrets that were supposed to stay hidden, Trevor quickly seems more suspicious of Addie than interested in her. And she has an inexplicable desire to change that.

Meanwhile, her best friend, Laila, has a secret of her own: she can restore Addie’s memories… once she learns how. But there are powerful people who don’t want to see this happen. Desperate, Laila tries to manipulate Connor, a brooding bad boy from school—but he seems to be the only boy in the Compound immune to her charms. And the only one who can help her.

As Addie and Laila frantically attempt to retrieve the lost memories, Addie must piece together a world she thought she knew before she loses the love she nearly forgot… and a future that could change everything.

Right, here we go. If you read my review of Pivot Point you know how excited I was to write this review, and I still am. I apologise in advance in case this review gets all gushy and incoherent. I can’t help it. (This review might contain minor spoilers for Pivot Point)

After reading Pivot Point, I waited a little over a month (I think…) before I picked up the sequel, and I have to say, I was a bit confused at the beginning, because I wasn’t 100% sure what happened in book one anymore, but that might just be because I have terrible memory. Fortunately, the guys over at Recaptains are angels and had a recap of Pivot Point that I could read. Seriously, I’d be lost without these people.
So, after refreshing my memory I plunged right into Split Second – and I loved it.

I don’t even really know where to start so I think I’ll just start with the plot. The plot was awesome. Again, there were many twists I totally didn’t see coming and the pacing was incredibly fast, which was great. I basically read the book in one sitting. This time, the story is told from Addie’s and Laila’s perspective, in the beginning Addie is in the outside world while Laila stays in the compound, but there’s some travelling involved later one. At first, I wasn’t the biggest fan of Laila’s POV, but as soon as Connor appeared, I was hooked. More on that later.

The characters were what I loved most about this book. I started really liking Addie towards the end of Pivot Point, and I continued to love her in this one. Her feelings were incredibly relatable and I think Kasie West did an awesome job with her emotions. Split Second also made me really love Laila. I wasn’t the biggest fan of her in the first book, because she was just so cliché, but this book focused less on how beautiful and superior she is compared to Addie, but more on her (insanely touching) family life and emotions, which again was pretty authentic and gripping. I absolutely adored that a strong focus remained on the awesome friendship between Addie and Laila. They’re just the best.
Right, let’s move on to the boys then. I’m not usually someone to really gush and swoon over fictional boyfriends, but hot fucking damn. I’ll start with Trevor. In Pivot Point I was like “hmm oh yeah he’s cute”, but Split Second totally made me fall in love with him (figuratively). He’s just the sweetest. I loved that it wasn’t insta love-y at all and that even though Addie knew him from her memories, Trevor said that he didn’t really know her at all and needed to get to know her first. Such development. Me gusta.
Enough about Trevor though. I want to talk about Connor. He’s probably the biggest fictional crush I’ve had in a while. I can’t even really explain why I love him so much, but he definitely has that pull. I think it’s mainly his story and his character and I really should stop rambling now but GAH. I love him. No spoilers but the person he ended up with – I definitely ship it. Also the scenes where he helps with a certain ability. Yes please.

Okay, that’s enough. As you probably noticed, I really adored this book. I would have loved to give it 5 stars, but my main problem I had with Pivot Point still remained in this book. Even though I loved how the characters started to question the system and reveal some dirty secrets, there still wasn’t a real explanation for why the compound even exists and has to be kept so secret. Please explain, Miss West! Apart from that, I would definitely, definitely recommend this duology to absolutely everyone. Even if you’re usually sceptical of YA, please give this a try. It’s definitely become one of my favourite series and I’m sure Split Second will be in the top 10 books of this year for me.

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

4/5 Cauldrons

 


imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
2 thoughts on “Review: Split Second

  1. Our feeling about this book are like the EXACT same!! haha!! God I loved Connor!!! Can he please be real??? And it also took me a little while to warm up to Laila! I was really turned off by how superior she saw herself at the start of the book! I agree, West can we please get some insight into the Para-community??? You just kind of expected us to nod our heads and not be curious. Great review!!.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2015 Wrap-Up | Brewing Up Books

Leave a Reply

