Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Happy Thanksgiving, apparently? I’m European, so we don’t celebrate it, but I hope all you Americans out there have a wonderful thanksgiving weekend! (Is it a weekend? Who knows…)

I’m thankful for most of the books I get to read, but here’s a list of those books I’m especially grateful for!

1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
This is my favourite book of all time, so of course it had to be on this list. I thank Markus Zusak for creating this masterpiece. It’s beautiful and amazing. I cry. That is all.

2. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
………………… Come on guys. Of course this series had to be on the list. It’s THE ultimate series. It’s basically my childhood. And that’s what I’m thankful for – all the wonderful hours I spent reading these books. And all the wonderful hours I will spend re-reading them in the future.

3. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
I’m glad this book exists because it’s so damn touching. There is this particular chapter at the end of the book that just made me bawl my eyes out because what happened was so horrible and heart-breaking. Being from Germany, I’ve obviously spent hours upon hours learning about WWII and how terrible it was, but reading these stories from the POVs of individual people, and knowing that, even though this particular book is just fiction, this actually happened to people back then, in the country I (used to) live in… it just broke my heart. An absolutely beautiful work of art that is so touching it’s almost unbearable. Will definitely re-read this in the future. Thank you, Anthony Doerr.

4. The Sherlock Holmes books by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Now, I call myself a huge Sherlock Holmes fan, yet I haven’t actually read any of the original stories apart from one. What I have done, however, is listened to the German translations on audiobook. I own about 50 of the audiobooks and I don’t think they’re direct translations, but that’s not the point. The stories are still the same. I used to get some of the audiobooks every Easter when I was younger, and I spent so many nights listening to them in bed before going to sleep. They just remind me of a wonderful, careless time when I was younger and had nothing to worry about, and they sparked my love for Sherlock Holmes, so I’m incredibly thankful for them.

5.  The Martian by Andy Weir
The reason I’m grateful for this book is because me and my boyfriend read it together, meaning I read it out aloud and he listened. We’ve done this with other books before, but mainly shitty books we were making fun of, so this was an entirely different experience. We both absolutely loved it and the time spend reading it was just amazing and I have so many fond memories of it. Mark Watney is a hero.

6. The Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson
Because it’s just absolutely amazing and everyone should read it. No more words needed.

7. The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness
Those books gave me so many FEELS omg. Like, seriously. They were the first Patrick Ness books I read and I immediately fell in love with the guy. His writing is absolutely amazing and in terms of writing style, he’s probably my second favourite author after Markus Zusak. You go, Patrick Ness.

8. The Warrior Cats Saga by Erin Hunter
Honestly, this series probably deserves its own post. It means so damn much to me. I only ever read Season 1 and the first half of Season 2 and I don’t know if I’ll ever read the rest, but these books are just so important to me. Me and my two best friends were obsessed with them about 5 or 6 years ago, and it was literally the best time of my life. We spent months coming up with our own characters and stories, drawing countless pictures, writing several RPGs (in class while we should have been paying attention, oooops), we signed up to forums about it on the internet and I made some amazing friends on there… My entire life used to revolve around this series and it was amazing. So amazing. I honestly can’t put it into words, but I am so damn grateful that these books exist. I recently managed to get an autograph from one of the authors and I basically died.
Thank you.

9. The Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray
Again, this is basically just a series I read when I was younger and that I have lots of fond memories of. I desperately want to re-read the books soon (maybe over the holiday, when I’m at home where I have my Geran copies of the books) because I remember loving them, and because book 2 and 3 are so big I spent so many wonderful hours with them. (Can you detect a pattern here? I wish I was young again hahaha)

10. The Bone People by Keri Hulme
My English teacher recommended this book to me 2 1/2 years ago and I borrowed it from him and read it over the summer. I haven’t stopped thinking about it since and I really need to get my own copy so I can read it again. The main reason I’m thankful for this book though is that it was my first ever literary fiction novel and it made me want to read so many more. I haven’t yet read so many more, but hey, I have time. Anyway, this book was beautiful.

 

So there’s my top 10 books I’m thankful for! They’re mainly just the books that are most important to me and that have stayed in my mind the longest. Feel free to share some of yours in the comments! (:

imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Thankful For

  1. Hold. The. Phone. WARRIORS?! OH MY GOSH! SOMEONE ELSE?! I haven’t met anyone else that has read this series, much less gone to the same lengths as I did to be a part of it! I, too, was obsessed! I read 1, 2, and part of three (at which point I dropped out), but it was awesome! I had a Warriors guild on Neopets, and then advanced to proboards to join the roleplay world. Oh man! All the cats I made. All the plots I designed. *sigh* So much nostalgia!

    Liked by 1 person

    • OH MY GOD you are my soulmate. Warriors was my LIFE. I was in a guild on Neopets as well, but not for very long because it wasn’t active haha. And yeah same, I was on the team of moderators for the official German forum, it was great 😀 Wish I could go back to that time tbh… ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh man! I know! It was so hard finding active guilds. I ended up making my own and I would spend hours using Paint to make awesome looking backgrounds for my guild. :p (I sucked at graphics. Haha!)
        I totally wish I could go back to that time in RP because it was awesome (though my RP interests evolved beyond cats after a while). Still, I always want to go back to rping. So much fun! ^.^

        Like

  2. I really love the Book Thief as well! Such an amazing book. I haven’t read All the Light We Cannot See but I’ve had it on my Kindle app for months. I don’t know why I haven’t actually gotten around to it yet. Seeing your description is making me curious to read it though. And I really loved the Martian & The Final Empire, the first Mistborn novel, too.

    Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your comment! 🙂 You should really read All the Light We Cannot See, it’s amazing. And if you loved The Final Empire you should definitely continue with that series as well, it only gets better and better 😀

      Like

  3. Warriors! Warriors! Warriors was on my list last week, too! The books were such a big part of my childhood. I read every single new book that came out and own about 30 of the books. I’ve reread the series many times and I was obsessed for a while with making up my own cool cat names. (I really wonder how the Erins continue to make up new names after all these years!) I’m currently rereading the first/original arc and every time I write a review for each book it’s basically just a super-long gushing fangirl post. Gah. So glad to know you’re a Warriors fan, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I LOVE WARRIORS SO MUCH. Yes, yes I’m definitely a Warriors fan too… 😀 Ans that’S impressive, I only own the last three books os S1 and a boxset of S2, and then Firestar’s Quest and Secrets of the Clans…

      Like

Leave a Reply

