Discussion: I Like Big Books and I Cannot Lie

I have a confession to make – I absolutely adore enormous books.  In fact, they’ve managed to effectively take over my TBR pile.  I also blame them for rendering me four books behind schedule for my 2015 Goodreads Reading Challenge.  I’ll put it this way, it’s a love/hate relationship.

The first book I read from start to finish of considerable size was a 745 page Annotated Pride and Prejudice for my eleventh grade English course.  And yes, at my high school, we are required to purchase specific ISBNs, and this just so happened to be the corresponding copy of Pride and Prejudice.  While I wasn’t a fan of the novel itself, I immediately fell in love with lengthy books.

Since then, I’ve added quite a few large novels to my collection and read a fair number of them as well.  Many readers object to reading sizable books due to their intimidating length or a fear of boredom.  Some claim them to be a source of reading slumps, which can last for weeks, months, or even years.  Others associate huge books with classics, which immediately have a negative connotation for some.

Therefore, if you find yourself in the subset of readers that avoid books of substantial length, I’m going to propose a challenge: read 2 books that are at least 500 pages in length during 2016.  Choose books that you’re generally interested in reading, or ones in a genre that you enjoy.  This will increase the likelihood of a positive experience (and will hopefully equate to the reading of many large books in the future)!

I currently have the following chubby chunksters (books consisting of 500+ pages) on my shelves:


Have you read any of these books?  What are some of the largest books that you’ve read/own?  What is your stance on chubby chunksters?

  • Profile Picture
Olivia
I am a senior in high school and an avid reader/reviewer, horseback rider, and graphic designer.  Since a young age, I have fostered a love of reading, beginning with my forays into the Nancy Drew series.  I’ve branched out significantly in my reading tastes since then, and my favorite genres include young adult, romance, mystery, and thriller.  I’m constantly trying to expand my horizons, however, so I do dabble in other genres.  While I’m not reading, I volunteer at a hippotherapy center and a veterinary clinic, practice agility with my dogs, play piano, and sketch.
Connect With Me:
goodreads • pinterest • instagram • tumblr {summerfitnessfandomschristmas}
11 thoughts on “Discussion: I Like Big Books and I Cannot Lie

  1. I love lengthy books too, just as long as there is a purpose to there length and not made long for the hell of it. I feel like King has done this a lot. It is pretty cool that although you didn’t particularly enjoy Pride and Prejudice, you still found a liking for big books. I have Cress on my shelf, along with a few others. I like long books too, but they are quite the commitment with my ever growing TBR.

    Like

    • That’s so true – if a book is going to be long, it should have some substance. Otherwise, I’m liable to lose interest fairly quickly. Cress has been on my TBR shelf for the longest time, and I’m hoping to get around to it over Christmas vacation!

      Like

  2. In the realm of big books, I LOVE it when the last book in a series is huge! When I saw that Winter was 800 pages long, I was ecstatic! I think I mainly love big book conclusions, especially if I love the series, because you know that they will answer all your questions and that you get to spend more time with the characters and the world before you have to say goodbye!

    Like

    • I’m right there with you with a love of enormous final books in series – they seem to amplify my excitement to finish the series. The worst is when the last book is lengthy but doesn’t fully resolve all of the recurring issues throughout the series!

      Like

  3. Some incredibly big books are really fast reads, like Harry Potter, the Inheritance Cycle, and the Lunar Chronicles. Some, like many giant classics, are really tough to get through. I like big books but I often find myself prioritizing shorter books (or books that just aren’t doorstops) because I can (usually) read them faster. I do one day mean to read the A Song of Ice and Fire series, and I’d love to grow brave enough to tackle Les Miserables…

    Like

    • I have to admit, I do the same thing by prioritizing shorter books (particularly when I’m trying to complete my Goodreads Reading Challenge), mainly because they take a significantly shorter amount of time to complete. And I’m currently tackling (or attempting to) Les Miserables, and I tried to set a realistic goal of finishing it by January 1st, so we’ll see how well that works!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That is an awesome list of books! I love quite a few of them especially A song of Ice and Fire. I really like lengthy books because it allows me to spend more time in a world that I love. If you have not read Patrick Rothfuss’s, “The Name of the Wind,” I would implore you to give it a try. It is a fantastic novel and quite lengthy at that.

    Like

  5. Pingback: First Blogiversary | Brewing Up Books

Leave a Reply

