Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Book Review

 


8591107Title:
 The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publish Date: September 27th 2011

Genres: YA, Paranormal

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

 

Right guys, I’m going to be honest with you. I genuinely didn’t read this book until last month. Why? I don’t f***ing know, because it was awesome!!

I read this book over the Halloween weekend, because you know, I thought it might be nice, seeing as I heard that this book was kinda creepy, and yeah, it was pretty perfect if you ask me. Or well, I don’t want to say perfect, because that statement is reserved for the book thief, but this was pretty damn good.

The premise of the book is that Mara, an average teenage girl, wakes up in hospital. Apparently, she was in an accident where a building collapsed on top of her and three of her friends, who are now dead. She doesn’t remember any of it, and, most importantly, she seems to be the only one who survived. If this doesn’t sound bloody intriguing to you then I don’t know what does.

Anyway, one of the main criticisms I’ve seen about this book is that instead of focussing on this amazing plot, it turns more into a typical romance novel. And believe me, I’ll usually be the first person to pick on romance novels (sorry, just not my type of genre), but I honestly didn’t mind this one, why I refuse to believe that it was that bad. I mean yes, Noah is a bit of a cliché, super cultured British bad boy and I definitely had my moments where I was just like … no. Please. BUT it could definitely have gone a lot worse. I also don’t think Noah is an abusive asshole, because there is a big difference between ordering food for someone because you want them to taste something you like, and… well. Being an abusive asshole. #controversial.

I absolutely loved how much of an unreliable narrator Mara was and some parts of this book were just downright creepy. You just don’t know if things are actually happening or if it’s all just in Mara’s head, and I really liked that about this book. Michelle Hodkin’s writing is great as well, and for some reason it reminded me of Gillian Flynn at some points. Am I the only one? Yeah? Okay then…

The characters are all pretty likeable and realistic, even though I feel like Hodkin’s tried a bit too hard with Jamie at times (especially in the later books but I’ll just mention it here as well because whatever), I mean, do you really have to have a stereotypical black, gay best friend? Apparently you do. I’m also fairly unimpressed by the lack of female characters in this book, since pretty much anyone who isn’t Mara is an evil slut. Noah sleeping with dozens of girls is fine of course. I do hate slut shaming, and I do hate double standards. Please fix, Mrs Hodkins.

I know I haven’t said too much about the book in this review, but I feel like that’s kinda the point. I went in knowing almost nothing about it and I think that’s how everyone should experience this story. All I can tell you is that I really, really enjoyed it and that I highly recommend it to anyone who likes YA (and hasn’t read it yet, which probably leaves me with no one…). I gave it 4 ½ stars on Goodreads btw!
Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

4/5 Cauldrons

 

 


imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
2 thoughts on “Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

    • Hey there, thanks for the nice comment! All the design credit goes to Olivia, I’ve only been around for like 3 months haha! Thank you, hope to see you around in the future x

      Like

Leave a Reply

