Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

What did you say…? I’m a day late for this? Well, what can you do? No, I’m sorry, but on Monday morning I set off to go home to Germany from the UK for the holidays, and I travelled for a total of 24 hours, so all I could do yesterday was sleep. And today I had loads of revision to do, so I’m only getting round to doing this now. I promise it will be on time next week!

1. Haruki Murakami
I read two books by this author this year, and I definitely want to read many more! It got me really interested in the Japanese culture, and now that I also learn Japanese, I’m even more intrigued by the world he tells stories about. Will definitely be picking up more of his books in 2016.

2. Bram Stoker
I don’t know if I’ll actually ever read anything else by him, I don’t think his other books are supposed to be as good, but Dracula just blew me away. It was amazing, and so creepy, and it still makes me shiver. Definitely a favourite of mine.

3. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
I read her book Americanah this year, and if I’d had more time, I would have picked up another one of her books already. What an incrredibly inspiring woman!

4. Kasie West
If you read my endless fangirling reviews of the Pivot Point duology, you’ll know that I absolutely loved that series. I’m not particularly interested in the author’s contemporary books, but if she published anything else like Pivot Point, I’d definitely be on it!

5.  Michelle Hodkin
Now. Now. After reading book 3 of the Mara Dyer trilogy, I’m not entirely sure how true this statement is anymore. You’ll hear more about it in my review that’ll be up soon. However, I still loved the first book and the writing in book 3 was still good, so I guess she does deserve a place on this list.

6. Anthony Doerr
I read All the Light We Cannot See this year and LOVED it. I think I talked about it in my “Books I’m Thankful For” post a couple weeks ago, Just read that if you want to know why I love this author.

7. Gillian Flynn
Dark Places was amazing and I can’t wait to read her other two books. Like, give me more. Now.

8. Andy Weir
Again, I spoke about this more on my thanksgiving TTT. But obviously Andy Weir has to be on this list. He brought me and my boyfriend many, many hours of joy and I’ll definitely read anything else he ever publishes.

9. Scott Lynch
The Lies of Locke Lamora was one of my favourite books of the year and I know, I should really be getting on with this series. But yeah, I’m super glad I discovered this author this year!

10. Emily Murdoch
I read If You Find Me for the 24 hour read-a-thon in April and holy hell. It was amazing. It’s such a quick read but still so touching and gaah. Has she published anything else? *runs to goodreads* No she hasn’t. Ugh.

 

There you go, friends of the internet. What are your favourite new authors of 2015??

imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015

  1. I also read Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche for the first time this year and I absolutely loved her! I read both Americanah and Purple Hibiscus and while both were amazing reads, I definitely loved Americanah better. It helped that Ifemelu was a blogger too, haha!

    I can’t wait to read Half of a Yellow Sun next year. Great list, Alex! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

