Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I Read In 2015

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

WHAT DO YOU MEAN IT’S THURSDAY TODAY??? Top Ten Thursday works as well right? I’m a busy bee!
Again, I apologise for being late once more, but I really didn’t want to miss out on this topic so I thought to hell with it and am posting this two days late. I’m sure none of you mind anyway.
I read some amaaazing books this year and I definitely want to share them!

181439771. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
I talked about this briefly in some of my recent TTT posts so I’m not going to go over it again, but this book. Was so. Dam
n. Touching. It was amazing. Everyone should read it now.

2. Lexicon by Max Barry16158596
I read this book with my Tumblr book club early this year and I really really liked it! It was written
so well and I absolutely loved the plot and how creative this was. I really need to check out more by this author.

84276793. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
This book!! Oh my god I loved it so much. I read this relatively early this year as well (maybe in April or May?) and I absolutely adored it. I don’t know why I haven’t read Sharp Objects and Gone Girl yet, but I’m definitely putting both of them on my list for 2016. Gillian Flynn’s writing style just absolutely captured me and even though this book was a slow read, it definitely was the good kind of slow. You get what I mean, right?

4. The Martian by Andy Weir20555443 (1)
Does this really come as a surprise to anyone? This was definitely one of my favourite books this year, if not of all time, so of course it had to be featured on this list. I know I promised you a book/movie post about The Martian, and it’s still coming! Pinky promise. I just need to find the time. No one told me being and adult would mean having no time for anything. Not even reading D: I have serious time management problems.

157932315.  If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch
Read this as part of a 24 hour readathon. Was absolutely blown away. Cried. Do I need to say more? It’s really short but so powerful, and I really, really loved it. I think I’ll probably reread it at some point very soon, might even buy a physical copy so I can have it on my shelf and touch it.

6. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch865293
This is one of the best fantasy books I ever read and I cannot wait to finally continue with this series! Why I haven’t done it yet you ask? Well, I don’t know. Readers don’t make sense, okay. I’ll definitely continue this series next year though! Or will I? I’ll try! In fact, I’ll probably buy book 2 very soon, and if uni is nice to me I might actually have the time to get around to it before the end of 2016. Pray for me.

65472597. The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson
This was the best ending to a trilogy ever. Like ever ever. It was satisfying, it was awesome, and it ripped my heart out and threw it into the ocean. Seriously, over the course of this series I got sooo attached to all of the characters, it felt like I knew them personally, and after what happens at the end of this book… I was just done. Tears everywhere. Brandon Sanderson, you beautiful man.

8. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie20939941
Again, I mentioned the author last week and spoke about the book a bit, so I’m not going to waste too much time on it but damn, this was a good book. Really refreshing and it really made me want to get into adult literature more, so yeah, I’ll probably be checking out the rest of her stuff soon as well.

157923169. Split Second by Kasie West
Just go read my review. Seriously.

10. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin8591107
Again, you should probably just read my review for this book. Although book 3 disappointed me greatly (like it did most people), I still absolutely love thie first book in this series. And the 2nd one kinda. Even though I don’t really remember the 2nd one. Oops.

 

These are my favourite books of 2015! How crazy is it that the year’s almost over?? Tell me your favourites in the comments, and also ask any questions you’d like to ask, because we’re planning on doing an Q&A post soon! Thanks (:

imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I Read In 2015

  1. I absolutely loved The Lies of Locke Lamora (and its sequels). Scott Lynch is an amazing author 🙂
    And I really loved the Martian too. I’m actually currently reading All the Light We Cannot See, and I’m really enjoying it. I hope you’ll have a great reading year in 2016 as well 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yesss, I really need to finally pick up the sequels! I’m glad your enjoying All the Light We Cannot See, hope the ending doesn’t destroy you as much as it did me, haha

      Like

  2. I love that you listed All the Light We Cannot See first– I absolutely adore that book! It’s so beautiful and tragic and the writing is just breathtaking. Have you read anything else by Anthony Doerr? I’ve been meaning to for a while but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know right, it was just such a beautiful book! I haven’t read anything else yet, but I really really want to. Hope I can get around to it in 2016 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

