Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Come on guys, you didn’t really expect me to post this on time, did you? But, I can confidently say that I’ve finished my revision summaries and I also have everything prepared for Christmas, sooo I can probably sit down and write up some blog posts over the next couple of days. Hooray! But now for the books I’d love to receive for Christmas. I’m not actually getting any of these apart from one (and I may have bought some of the other for myself), but I guess you can say they’re also the books at the top of my to-buy list for 2016!

1. The Dumb House by John Burnside
I heard about this book on booktube, and apparently it’s supposed to be phenomenal. It’s also about the question of whether or not language is innate and features some disturbing experiments, and that’s something we’ve been discussing on my uni course, so I’m super interested to see what it will be like! I actually know that my mum is getting me this for Christmas, so yay!

2. Harry Potter #1 Illustrated Edition
I don’t need to actually say anything about this right? I wasn’t actually going to buy this book at first, but then I got back to Germany and went to the bookstore to buy presents and I saw it there… And had a look through it… And immediately went on Amazon and ordered it. It’s waiting for me at uni, and I’ll finally be able to read the books in English and ahhh, I’m so excited!

3. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
The reason I want this book is because it recently came out in this stunning vintage classics edition aaaaand well. I ordered it, It’s waiting for me in England. I got myself some pretty good presents this year… But yeah, I’ve been wanting to read this ever since we read excerpts of it in school and I’m really looking forward to it!

4. Blue Lily Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
The paperback edition that matches my other two books finally comes out at the end of December and I definitely wouldn’t mind finding it under the Christmas tree. But it doesn’t come out until after Christmas. Oh well.

5.  Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
After loving Dark Places so much, I really want to read this book. I’m giving Dark Places to my mum for Christmas this year, but I don’t think I’ll be receiving on back, haha.

6. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami
There’s this special box set I really want, but it’s not on UK Amazon, so I migth actually ask my parents to get me it for my birthday and send it over…

7. A book about the Marauder’s era by J.K. Rowling
Lol keep wishing Alex.

8. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien
I own The Hobbit and have yet to read it, but I know I really want to read the trilogy at some point in my life as well. Some people say it’s dead boring, other’s think it’s amazing, so I’m not sure if I’ll like it, but I definitely want to see for myself.

9. Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch
Seeing as The Lies of Locke Lamora was on my favourites list last year, I don’t really need to explain why I want to have this book, right?

10. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
I do have the ebook, but I kinda want a physical copy of it… I mean it’s huge and it would be a nightmare to read, but I absolutely adore the film, so I feel like it would be appropriate for me to own a physical copy of the book.

 

What books would you like to receive for Christmas this year? Or do you already know about some that you are getting? Also feel free to leave us Q&A questions, we might do one of those posts at the start of the new year!

imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year

  1. HP Illustrated edition is a must! It’s absolutely gorgeous and UGH neeeeed *insert heart eyes*
    Also, I wouldn’t mind having Lé Miserables in physical form either. Have you seen the gorgeous edition with the gray and red cover? (That’s not specifi at all lol) I want it solely based off its beauty…
    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know right!! I flicked through it in the bookstore and I was like yep. I definitely need that it my life.
      And do you mean the Penguin Classics one?? Clothbound with red birds on it? I literally want all the books in those editions, hahaha

      Like

  2. Gah, I want the new illustrated Harry Potter book so bad! I’ve seen pictures of the illustrations inside and I’m drooling. If only I had the money to be able to afford buying duplicates of books I already own… As for Lord of the Rings, I’m one of those people who says its amazing. Yes, the books are really dense and it took me about a month to read each one, but they’re worth it. Side note: if you’ve seen the movies first, it’ll probably be a bit easier to get into the books. I hope you enjoy them when you eventually get around to reading them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s stunning, isn’t it?? I figured the joy it would bring me would be worth it, plus I’ve always wanted to read them in English anyway, so I thought this would be a good opportunity to start a second collection in English, haha.
      And that’s great to know, reinforces my wish to actually read LOTR, thanks! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

