Our Favorite Reads of 2015


For us, 2015 was laden with countless excellent young adult and adult new releases, as well as a few older publications that we fell in love with.  With the year coming to a rapid close, we wanted to share some of our favorites reads from the past twelve months.  A few of these could come in handy for those Barnes and Noble giftcards that your family sends you throughout the holidays!


Olivia’s Favorites

ObsidianObsidian, by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Barnes & Noble • Amazon • Goodreads

I’ve never been a huge fan of aliens, regardless of whether they appear in film or in literature.  However, I found myself pleasantly surprised by their portrayal in this series, and I immediately fell in love with the protagonists.  The romance was also adorable, particularly due to characters’ seemingly polar opposite personalities.  I also enjoyed their witty, relentless banter which added a humorous aspect to the tale.  You can read my review here.


The Martian, by Andy Weir20555443 (1)

Barnes & Noble • Amazon • Goodreads

After hearing this book was going to be converted into a movie, I was ecstatic and knew I had to get my hands on the book immediately.  After absolutely loving the movie, the book certainly didn’t disappoint.  My favorite components were likely the sarcastic narration, regardless of how grim the situation was at hand, as well as Mark’s continued perseverance throughout the ordeal.  If The Martian captures your attention and you’re interested in learning more, you can hop over to Alex’s review (here).


17899351The Diviners, by Libba Bray

Barnes & Noble • Amazon • Goodreads

Set in the early nineteenth century, The Diviners excellently portrays the time period in New York City through the protagonist’s exciting, hectic lifestyle.  As an uncharacteristically independent teenager, Evie sets out to identify and expose a vicious killer who has been brutally mangling his victims in an attempt to complete a series of rituals.  The story is action-packed and contains countless unexpected twists and turns that will keep you reading into the wee hours of the morning.  You can view my review here.


Dorothy Must Die, by Danielle PaigeDorothy Must Die

Barnes & Noble • Amazon • Goodreads

With fairy-tale retellings rising significantly in popularity over the past several years, Dorothy Must Die is an extremely original portrayal of L. Frank Baum’s classic.  It’s chilling re-imagination casts an eerie light on the well-known characters and adds a creepy twist to the plot in which Dorothy isn’t the sweet, innocent girl that she initially appears to be.  You can see my full review here.


Altered, by Jennifer Rush photo Our Favorite Reads of 2016_zpseumfjzj0.png

Barnes & Noble • Amazon • Goodreads

If you’re looking for a relatively short, yet thrilling read, I would definitely recommend Altered.  While I was initially mildly put off by the cover and the prospect of carrying around a book with a half-naked man on the front, I never regretted picking it up.  Both the plot and characters were original and I was completely helpless once I started reading – I couldn’t put it down and finished it in a single sitting.


Alex’s Favorites

I already talked about my favourite books on my second to last TTT post, but hey, you can never promote your favourite books enough, can you?

Lord of the Flies, by William Golding

Barnes & Noble • Amazon • Goodreads

If you’ve read my Favourite Books of 2015 Top Ten Tuesday post, you’ll know that this book isn’t actually on it. So why would it be on this top 5 list? Well, I wrote that TTT post pretty much just after finishing this book, and while I thought that it was really good, there were just a lot of other books that impressed me more this year. But this book has stayed on my mind ever since, and I think it’s a fantastic classic that everyone should check out. My review will be one of the first ones next year, so keep your eyes open for that!


All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr

Barnes & Noble • Amazon • Goodreads

I’m really starting to feel like I’ve annoyed you guys too much with how much I love this book. But really, it’s pehnomenal. Please please read it. If you didn’t know, it’s a book set both in France and Germany during World War II and it follows the lives of two very different people, who end up crossing paths. It’s super touching and the chapters are really short, and I think this would be a great book if you want to start getting into adult/literary fiction.


The Hero of Ages, by Brandon Sanderson

Barnes & Noble • Amazon • Goodreads

If you like fantasy and you haven’t read this series yet, what have you been doing?? I wouldn’t say it’s a YA series, but it’s not really adult fiction either, it’s somewhere inbetween, but also incredibly easy to read in my opinion, so seriously, what’s holding you back? It’s one of my favourite series of all time and Brandon Sanderson’s writing and worldbuilding are just absolutely phenomenal. This book made me cry so much, mainly because I got so attached to all the characters over the course of the three books, ans I absolutely cannot wait to read his other books.


Dark Places, by Gillian Flynn 

Barnes & Noble • Amazon • Goodreads

Again, this book has definitely made it onto my list of favourite books of all time. It was incredibly slow-paced, but in the good way, and I loved it. I loved spending hours and hours with the characters and the mystery, I loved the alternating chapters between past and present, and I loved how creepy and wonderful this was. I still haven’t read her other two books, but I highly recommend you giveGillian Flynn a try.


The Martian, by Andy Weir 

Barnes & Noble • Amazon • Goodreads

Yes, I had to include this on my list, even though Olivia already included this. But I just can’t make a list about my favourite books of the year without talking about The Martian. It gave me all the feels and gaaah, I loved it so much. But I’ll stop rambling about it now. The fact that it’s on this list twice should be reason enough for you to buy it and read it RIGHT NOW. (And yes, my book/movie comparison is still coming. Promise.)


What were some of your favorite reads over the course of the past year?

4 thoughts on “Our Favorite Reads of 2015

  1. This year I’ve been loving the Lunar Chronicles, the books of Gregory Maguire and a new love for classics. The Martian and Ready Player One were also great books 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

