Top Ten Tuesday: Resolutions for 2016

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

It’s a new year, and of course everyone is making loads and loads of New Year’s resolutions. Today, I’ll be sharing some of boookish and non-bookish ones with you. I don’t know if I’ll actually manage to come up with 10, but we’ll see!

1. Read 50 books
In 2015, I read 60 books, but this year I set a lower goal, because I realised that I get a lot less reading done at uni. I do, however, have a 4 month break over the summer, so I hope to get absolute loads of reading done then. I also want to try and get more read by listening to more audiobooks and dedicating more time to reading, so let’s hope I can still manage to read 50 books this year!

2. Go into the bookstore once a month and just pick up a book that interests me
This might sound a bit odd, but a lot of the time I find myself being really influenced by other people when it comes to book-buying, and theoretically, that’s not a bad thing at all, but this year, I want to go to the bookshop once a month, just have a long look around and pick up a book that interests me, whether I’ve heard of it before or not.

3. Complete the Popsugar 2016 reading challenge
You can find the list here, and it’s pretty self-explanatory, but I’ll be talking more about it in a post me and Olivia are doing soon, so look forward to that!

4. Do all my assigned uni reading
I guess this is kind of a goal to do with books? At uni, we get assigned a lot of reading from textbooks as well as scientific articles, reports and essays, and more often than not I found myself ignoring some of the reading during term last year, which resulted in me having to do it all over the Christmas holidays for revision. I know it’s only 1st year and I shouldn’t be stressing too much, but I do want to try and actually do most of my reading when I’m supposed to this year.

5.  Be a good friend
Again, a fairly odd resolution, and something that is usually not an effort for me, but this past year I realised how incredibly important friends are, and how much better they make life, which is why I want to actively try and be there for my amazing friends this year.

6. Make time for the people and things I love
I spend a lot of my life procrastinating, and I want to change that, because it makes me feel bad. Over the past couple of months, I would always have friends messaging me asking if I wanted to go for a drink, and I had to decline so many times because I had spent hours just browsing the internet, not doing the work that was due the next day. In 2016, I want to vastly improve my time-management so that I can actually alot more time to spend with people I love and doing things I enjoy doing.

7. Make time to relax
This is pretty similar to the last resolution, but towards the end of 2015 I got super stressed out, which led to huge problems in my personal life. That’s why I want to make sure I’m as balanced as possible this coming year.

8. Lead a more healthy life
This is on everyone’s list, right? Don’t really have to explain this one, I just want to make sure I eat healthily this year.

 

There we go, those are pretty much the only resolutions I have for this year. Definitely let me know which ones you have, I’d love to know!

imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Resolutions for 2016

  1. These are some wonderful goals! I hope you achieve them all. I’m planning on eating healthier this year, which I think is going well so far! Best of luck to the both of us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely resolutions Alex^^ I hope to read around 50 books this year too! Good luck with all your reading challenges this year 🙂 Oh and your #s 5-8 are great resolutions I think everyone should take up ♥ Happy 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

