Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Book Review

 


13643567

Title: The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publish Date: October 23rd 2012

Genres: YA, Paranormal

The truth about Mara Dyer’s dangerous and mysterious abilities continues to unravel in the New York Times bestselling sequel to the thrilling The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.She can’t. She used to think her problems were all in her head. They aren’t. She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets. She’s wrong. In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

 

I read this book right after finishing The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, because I loved book 1 and I desperately needed to know what was going to happen. And again, this book did not disappoint (very much unlike book 3, but we’ll get to that another day…).

The story picks up right where book 1 ended, again with Mara in a hospital bed. I really liked how it still really focused on her home life, for some reason I really love scenes in books where the characters are just at home… doing stuff. Is that weird? Probably.

The best thing about this book was how creepy it is. Mara is convinced Jude is alive and, on top of that, stalking her and breaking into her house doing some very disgusting and disturbing things. That alone is creepy enough, but I also love how as a reader, you just can’t be sure if these things are actually happening or if they’re just a product of Mara’s imagination / mental disorder. Noah is still there like… always, but I have to say I wasn’t too bothered about him in this book at all. He’s still very cliché and British and perfect and hm. He’s not the worst ever love interest, but he’s nothing special. Or rather, he’s so special it makes him super unrealistic and like… stereotypically perfect. No thanks. But yeah, as I said, he didn’t really irritate me either. I was just kind of indifferent.

Apart from that I also really enjoyed the flashbacks we got to Mara’s grandma’s life back in India and later England (or was England in book 3? Who knows).
I liked how those chapters had a very different atmosphere and feeling, which I thought was great proof of Michelle Hodkin’s talent with words. The writing in all three of these books is definitely way above average, and no matter how much I disliked the plot of the last book (review coming soon), I can’t argue with that. I will definitely read whatever she will write in the future. Or well, maybe not the series from Noah’s POV because he kinda sucks. Hah.

One thing I did not like was the fact that we still didn’t get very many answers. Everything is still a mystery and it’s all very confusing and please, just tell me what’s going on! If I hadn’t read book three I would think “Oh surely it will all get explained and resolved then!” Yeah well… (I’m sorry hahaha I really didn’t intend to shade book 3 so much in this review I promise!)
Also while I didn’t think this book suffered from sequel syndrome, I found it a bit difficult to remember which of the events actually took place in this book instead of the first or last one. I’m not entirely sure if that’s a bad thing, but I guess it says that the book didn’t stand out to me as much?

I’d probably say it was a bit weaker than book 1 but MILES better than book 3.

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

4/5 Cauldrons

 

 


imageAlex
I’m a first year Psychology student and I have loved books since my grandpa read them out aloud to me when I was a toddler. I could spend hours upon hours in bookstores, perusing and debating over which books to take home with me. There’s basically nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of steaming hot tea and a good book on a rainy day, in my opinion, and I’d choose a night reading over a night out at the club any day. I read books from all genres and constantly aspire to broaden my horizons.
Connect With Me:
2 thoughts on “Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer

  1. Evolution is my favorite in the series, actually. I almost didn’t continue with the Mara Dyer series because book 1 was good, but not a type of book I normally would read back then. (Now I’m all for creepy psychological stuff!) I didn’t hate book 3, though it definitely had a lot of problems — but I still enjoyed it. Glad you’re a fan of books 1 and 2, at the very least! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

