Review: The Geography of You and Me

Book Review18295852Title: The Geography of You and Me

Author: Jennifer E. Smith

Series: None

Publisher: Poppy

Publish Date: April 15th, 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

Lucy and Owen’s relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and—finally—a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith’s new novel shows that the center of the world isn’t necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, anybody?

At least, that was my initial reaction upon reading the summary for this book. I was a little skeptical, because these types of books are always a little fluffy, but I was in the mood for a not-so-serious read.

This book was a very (no surprise here) cute story. Lucy and Owen were very witty, and following along with them was as comfortable as sitting down with your own friends to rant about your favorite books. It was the simple kind of happy that accompanies a giggle here and there. I probably would’ve liked them better if they had a little more depth though. They didn’t really develop much internally, and they were very easy to predict.

If you aren’t ok with the main characters not having much interaction, I wouldn’t really recommend this book for you. Owen and Lucy are on the other side of the world from each other the majority of the time, with nothing but postcards as a means of contact between them.

The first night they meet is pretty fun though. The idea of an entire city blackout intrigued me a lot because, really, how is anybody supposed to react in that sot of situation?

I think my only real problem with this book was it felt like it was dangerously edging into the insta-love category, which I have never been a fan of. I’d say the main characters are infatuated with the other for the majority of the book, seeing as they don’t get to know that much about the other till the end of the book.

I feel like this is the perfect book to read on a beach vacation, but it isn’t necessarily one I’d read over and over again.

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

witches_cauldron-2

3.5/5 Cauldrons


animals_long_hair_twintails_braids_white_hair_aqua_eyes_hats_anime_girls_wolves_1600x1200_wallpap_Art

Kenzie

I’m in love with reading, and have been since I was able to hold a book. But when I’m not reading, I’m working hard towards my other passion: Music. I play in all ensembles my school offers, and some outside of that. I’m a junior in high school, and I aspire to be a performing musician one day.

I usually stay with YA, but I’ve been known to venture into some odd areas as well. I also sometimes read younger than my level because of my middle school sibling.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Geography of You and Me

  1. I’m not a fan of insta-love either and didn’t really like this book… It does make a perfect beach read like you said, great review!

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂 I definitely found it to be a lighter read than some of her other books, like ‘This Is What Happy Looks Like’, but I really liked the characters, and I thought the whole concept was intriguing. I think this was the first book I read that had a long-distance relationship in it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

