Discussion: No, the Last Movie Shouldn’t Be Two Parts

Discussion

I’ve come to terms with the fact that popular Young Adult books are going to be turned into movies, am I OK with that…no not really. You probably just gasped really loudly, but I have my reasons. It’s not that I don’t like my favorite books being turned into movies, but I think it’s gotten out of hand.

Take the Percy Jackson series for example. It’s a super popular series among all readers no matter the age. Hollywood in its wonderful glory obviously figured they could make money if they made this series into a movie (don’t pretend that’s not why movies are made). If you’ve seen the first 2 movies of the Percy Jackson series, it obviously didn’t go well. I’ve only seen the first movie, but I don’t want to be mean but they didn’t really do a good job.

This obviously isn’t the case for most YA books turned movies. If you’ve seen The Hunger Games or Twilight you can see that most books can turn out pretty well as movies. My only problem with books turned movies is that the movie won’t stay faithful to the story. I love how books turned movies can get people to read more, but it feels like these are the only type of movies being made lately.

Another problem I have with books being made into movies is for some reason, every single book in the last part of a series needs to be split into two parts. This doesn’t really make sense to me, why would I want to wait another year for the movie to end. Plus if you think about it the first parts of most books aren’t that interesting, so you’re wasting money in my opinion. I think it would just be easier if you put the two movies together and made it one whole movie, sure it would probably be over 4 hours long but I would go see it.

What’s your opinion on books turned movies, do you love ’em or hate ’em?

Catbug_wallpaper_sugar_peas_by_tet_teddy-d5znn9c

Melanie
I love reading books of all genres, especially young adult. I am currently a freshman in high school, which takes up the majority of my time. I love watching Supernatural and listening to music by FOB, P!ATD, Halsey, Florence + The Machine, etc. I would love to be go into the medical field when I graduate high school.
Connect With Me:
4 thoughts on “Discussion: No, the Last Movie Shouldn’t Be Two Parts

  1. Yeah, I hate when they make the finale two parts- it becomes anticlimactic. I can’t imagine paying to see part one and two of the end of a movie series, unless they were my favorite books ever. Some movie interpretations get it right (even if it’s different than the book): the Princess Bride and Stardust come to mind.
    Great discussion post!
    ~Litha Nelle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

