Review: Through The Woods

Book Review
Through The WoodsTitle
: Through the Woods

Author: Emily Carroll

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Publish Date: July 15th, 2014

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Graphic Novels

‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Through the Woods is a collection of 5 short stories. It’s a graphic novel so it kind of makes it easier to read. My review may be sort of short considering this is a graphic novel.

One of the things I really liked about Through the Woods, is the creepiness around it. The 5 short stories are so weird/creepy. Which made it really fun to read since I do like books that have a bit of creepiness to them. I also loved the artwork in the book, the author/illustrator does an excellent job at depicting the really creepy scenes in Through the Woods.

I also liked how each story was unique and different from the others. My only problem with them was how some of the stories didn’t really make that much sense when they ended. I felt like the majority of the stories could’ve had a few more pages added to them.

The 5 short stories are, Our Neighbor’s House, A Lady’s Hands Are Cold, His Face All Red, My Friend Janna, and The Nesting Place.

Our Neighbor’s House – This was an OK first story. I really liked the artwork, but the ending of this story was sort of confusing.

A Lady’s Hands Are Cold – This is probably my favorite of all of the short stories. It has a really interesting story line and the artwork once again was on point.

His Face All Red – I didn’t really like this story, it was a tad boring if I must say. It didn’t really have the scary part like the other stories did and the ending was also confusing.

My Friend Janna – With this story, I felt like more details could’ve been added. It was a good story, but some parts didn’t really work together which made sort of confusing at times. But the story was suspenseful.

The Nesting Place – I loved the artwork in this story, it was so creepy plus it worked great with the plot. This is by far the creepiest story out of the 5 stories.

Overall Through the Woods is a really great read, although it had its downs I highly recommend this if you’re looking for something creepy to read.

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

witches_cauldron-2

4.5/5 Cauldrons

Catbug_wallpaper_sugar_peas_by_tet_teddy-d5znn9c

Melanie
I love reading books of all genres, especially young adult. I am currently a freshman in high school, which takes up the majority of my time. I love watching Supernatural and listening to music by FOB, P!ATD, Halsey, Florence + The Machine, etc. I would love to be go into the medical field when I graduate high school.
Connect With Me:

goodreads • twitter • instagram • tumblr

2 thoughts on “Review: Through The Woods

Leave a Reply

