Review: The Fourth Wish

Book Review

16166550The Fourth Wish

Author: Lindsay Ribar

Series: The Art of Wishing

Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books

Publish Date: July 31st, 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Magic, Fantasy

 

Here’s what Margo McKenna knows about genies:

She’s seen Aladdin more times than she can count; she’s made three wishes on a magic ring ; she’s even fallen head over heels in love with Oliver, the cute genie whose life she saved by fighting off his archenemy. But none of this prepared her for the shock of becoming a genie herself.

At a time when she’s trying to figure out who she wants to be, Margo is forced to become whomever her master wants. Everything she’s taken for granted—graduating from high school, going to college, performing in the school musical, even being a girl—is called into question. But she’s also coming into a power she never imagined she’d have.

How will Margo reconcile who she is with what she’s becoming? And where will she and Oliver stand when she’s done?

Before I start, may I just say the amount of Aladdin references I could make are absolutely infinite, so be grateful I’ve suppressed ever pun-making bone in my body to write an actual review.

If I could use one word to describe this book, it would be “cute”. Because that’s what this second installation to Lindsey Ribar’s series is. The first book sort of stunned me with the whole modern genie thing, as it was the first genie book in Young Adult literature I had read. It was quite well done and I really enjoyed it, so I had sort of high expectations for this book.

Don’t get me wrong, there were some cool things in this story. We got to learn more about the actual rules of being a genie, and traveled to all the cool genie places and played with the new magic, which I found quite entertaining. However, I feel like we could have gone more in depth as to what the magic actually was and how it worked.

I think I didn’t enjoy Margo or Oliver as much in this book either. Margo was pretty self-centered, and Oliver wanted to just do things his way, without giving much thought as to Margo’s actual life.

That was another thing I didn’t quite agree on. If I were suddenly turned into a genie I wouldn’t attempt to live my normal life like usual. It would be painful to leave, but in the end probably easier for everyone instead of revealing magic to every human in the town. It just didn’t make much sense to me.

I did like the ending a good deal. I thought it all wrapped up pretty nicely, even if it fell sort of rushed.

If you liked The Art of Wishing, and are wondering whether to read this book, I’d say go for it, but don’t go in expecting it to be like the first. I still definitely recommend the first book. Especially if you enjoy magic in modern settings.

 

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

 

 

3/5 Cauldrons


animals_long_hair_twintails_braids_white_hair_aqua_eyes_hats_anime_girls_wolves_1600x1200_wallpap_Art

Kenzie

I’m in love with reading, and have been since I was able to hold a book. But when I’m not reading, I’m working hard towards my other passion: Music. I play in all ensembles my school offers, and some outside of that. I’m a junior in high school, and I aspire to be a performing musician one day.

I usually stay with YA, but I’ve been known to venture into some odd areas as well. I also sometimes read younger than my level because of my middle school sibling.

Leave a Reply

