Discussion: Where I Get My Books

Discussion

I’ve never been a huge fan of audiobooks (I expressed my full-fledged dislike of them here), so the majority of the books that I acquire are either physical copies or ebooks.  Considering I’m a poor high school (almost college) student and dedicate nearly all of my money to purchasing books, I try to be as resourceful as possible.  Then again, I still shouldn’t be trusted in a bookstore with a credit card.

Physical Bookstores

The most popular chain bookstore in my area is Barnes and Noble.  The majority of their books are sold at the publisher’s recommended price.  Thankfully, they frequently send out coupons and run promotions (I recently went to town with the buy two classics get the third free special).  Otherwise, there would be no way I could afford a trip to Barnes and Noble!

Occasionally, a bargain bookstore will pop up near my house.  They generally don’t stay in business for very long, but I try to take advantage of them while I can.  And yes, I have had to carry boxes (plural) of books out to my car on more than one occasion.

Book Depository

One of the primary perks of the Book Depository is its free worldwide shipping and discounted prices.  Personally, I’m also very anal about all of the book covers in a series matching.  The Book Depository conveniently sells all editions of a book that are currently in print, so buyers can pick and choose the cover they would like.  This also provides access to covers which are only released in other countries.

BookBub

Bookbub is one of my favorite websites and a fairly recent discovery for me.  Once you sign up for an account, you can search for discounted ebooks by genre and format/ereader.  Bookbub will then redirect you to the seller (ie. Amazon, iTunes, Barnes and Noble, etc.).  I have to admit, I’m officially addicted to browsing the free book section.

Library

Libraries are a great opportunity to borrow and read books that you don’t necessarily want to own.  Unfortunately for me, my local library system doesn’t readily stock new releases.  I recently discovered that I can also rent ebooks and audiobooks from my library, so I’ve been catching up on a few older publications that I’ve been meaning to read.

ARCs – Netgalley

When all else fails, you can always turn to ARCs, whether you accept requests that are sent via your blog or reach out to publishers directly.  Netgalley is also an excellent resource for obtaining ARCs because it allows you to browse available advanced copies and contact authors and publishers regarding those which interest you.


 

Where do you frequently purchase your books?

Profile Picture

Olivia
I am a senior in high school and an avid reader/reviewer, horseback rider, and graphic designer.  Since a young age, I have fostered a love of reading, beginning with my forays into the Nancy Drew series.  I’ve branched out significantly in my reading tastes since then, and my favorite genres include young adult, romance, mystery, and thriller.  I’m constantly trying to expand my horizons, however, so I do dabble in other genres.  While I’m not reading, I volunteer at a hippotherapy center and a veterinary clinic, practice agility with my dogs, play piano, and sketch.
Connect With Me:
goodreads • pinterest • instagram • tumblr {summerfitnessfandomschristmas}
11 thoughts on “Discussion: Where I Get My Books

  1. Pre-blogging, I got most of my books from the library and the very occasional physical bookstore. But post-blogging, I get a lot of ARCs from publishing houses and NetGalley/ EW. However I find myself getting more books from online retail stores, which kind of sucks since I’m a total advocate for indie bookstores.

    Like

    • I feel like online retailers are growing in popularity in general. The online stores along with some of the big chains have, unfortunately, been forcing most of the independently-run bookstores near me out of business.

      Like

  2. In my far-off neck of the woods, we only have one bookstore – Chapters/Indigo which so far as I know is comparable to your Barnes and Noble! Therefore, I order a lot of my books online. I love TBD and I also end up with Amazon gift cards quite frequently, which is nice 🙂 I’ve never heard of Bookbub but I’ll be checking it out as soon as I finish my comment here^^ thanks for the heads up! Oh and I’ve started using the library recently for my growing audiobook needs and I love it! Great post! x

    Like

  3. I’m going to have to try out Bookbub! I usually buy my books through B&N (thank goodness for all of their coupons! I also have splurged and bought the $25/year membership the past two years which gets me 10% off and the coupons I receive tend to be for more of a percentage off) and Amazon.

    Like

  4. I just started looking at BookBub since I saw your post and it’s an absolute godsend!!! I think I’m already addicted though, and it’s becoming a bit of an issue. I keep spending money on like the 99 cents and 1.99 stuff, just because its so cheap. Not like I needed any of it.

    Like

    • Hahaha it’s very easy to keep clicking the “Purchase” button and feel very little regret after the fact, particularly when everything is so cheap. Hopefully it’ll wear off soon – until it does, it looks like someone has a lot of reading to catch up on!

      Like

  5. Pingback: 2016 Recap & 2017 Resolutions | Brewing Up Books

Leave a Reply

