Review: November 9

Book Review


November 9Title
: November 9

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publisher: Atria Books

Publish Date: November 10th, 2015

Genres: New Adult, Romance

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Since today is Valentine’s day, I thought it would be a great idea to post a review about a romantic novel.

If we’re being honest I don’t really like romance novels and hardly ever read them. But this was by Colleen Hoover, who is considered the queen of new adult and romance (at least that’s what I’ve heard), so I decided to give this book a try.

November 9 is about two people, Fallon and Ben who meet up on the same day each year for 5 years, November 9. This book will obviously have insta-love and despite the fact that the characters point this out several times, I still don’t like the insta-love. The story is broken up into the days Fallon and Ben meet up together. Not only is this story about two people meeting up together it also has another story within it, since Ben is writing a novel about his romance with Fallon.

The only problem I had with November 9 is possibly how unrealistic it is. I don’t actually believe two people would meet up on the same day for 5 years straight. It was also very frustrating how Ben and Fallon immediately fell in love, they only met up once a year, that’s hardly enough time to start a relationship with someone. They didn’t even communicate via social media or some other form of communication. It was very tiresome *sigh*. Do you see why I don’t like reading romance novels?

While the romance was completely unrealistic I am a sucker for sweet guys like Ben. I could care less about Fallon, but Ben was so cute. I loved how much he cared about Fallon and he was also very adorkable. I did feel like most of the side relationships were overlooked though. It would have been nice if Hoover had focused a bit more on the Ben and Fallon’s relationships with the people in their lives. Such as Fallon and her parents and Ben and his brothers.

The twist at the end was….ehhh….sort of meh? I don’t really see how it added anything to the story. I knew there would be a twist since that’s what everyone mentioned when they were reading it, but I thought the twist would be more extravagant.

Overall I liked November 9 and will definitely look forward to reading more of Hoover’s books. Plus I learned why people like romance novels (the cute/protective guys in them).

Valentines day

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

Witches_Cauldron-2

4/5 Cauldrons

Catbug_wallpaper_sugar_peas_by_tet_teddy-d5znn9c

Melanie
I love reading books of all genres, especially young adult. I am currently a freshman in high school, which takes up the majority of my time. I love watching Supernatural and listening to music by FOB, P!ATD, Halsey, Florence + The Machine, etc. I would love to be go into the medical field when I graduate high school.
Connect With Me:
5 thoughts on “Review: November 9

  1. Great review, Melanie! I haven’t heard of this one yet, but I think I’m going to give it a try! And the gif was great 😀 I can’t say I’m a huge fan of romance novels myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like such a cute book! I’m usually not a fan of romance but I feel like I could end up really liking this. Just added it on goodreads!

    Like

Leave a Reply

