Waiting on Wednesday: Heartless

Waiting on Wednesday


18584855Title
: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Series: No series

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Publish Date: November 6, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fairytale Retelling

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king’s marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

Ooooo look here everyone! Not only does Marissa Meyer (one of my all time favorite authors EVER) have a new book coming out, but it’s also Wonderland themed!

So I’ll admit it, I have a tiny bit of an obsession with anything to do with Alice in Wonderland. It is a little concerning. Nontheless, I simply cannot wait to see what adventures await. Not to mention, it sounds a bit like Wicked  because it’s the villian’s backstory. I love backstories. I love new ideas. I’m so psyched about this book.

What are on the top of your guy’s bookshelves? Any fairytale retellings out there?

animals_long_hair_twintails_braids_white_hair_aqua_eyes_hats_anime_girls_wolves_1600x1200_wallpap_Art

Kenzie

I’m in love with reading, and have been since I was able to hold a book. But when I’m not reading, I’m working hard towards my other passion: Music. I play in all ensembles my school offers, and some outside of that. I’m a junior in high school, and I aspire to be a performing musician one day.

I usually stay with YA, but I’ve been known to venture into some odd areas as well. I also sometimes read younger than my level because of my middle school sibling.

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Heartless

  1. YAS!!! I need this one too – After how perfectly Meyers concluded the Lunar Chronicles, I am DYING to see what she does with Wonderland!! Awesome pick 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

