Review: Tell Me Again How A Crush Should Feel

Book Review

Book Cover.jpgTitle: Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel

Author: Sara Farizan

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

Publish Date: October 7th 2014

Genres: Young Adult, LGBTQIA+, Contemporary, Romance

High-school junior Leila has made it most of the way through Armstead Academy without having a crush on anyone, which is something of a relief. Her Persian heritage already makes her different from her classmates; if word got out that she liked girls, life would be twice as hard. But when a sophisticated, beautiful new girl, Saskia, shows up, Leila starts to take risks she never thought she would, especially when it looks as if the attraction between them is mutual. Struggling to sort out her growing feelings and Saskia’s confusing signals, Leila confides in her old friend, Lisa, and grows closer to her fellow drama tech-crew members, especially Tomas, whose comments about his own sexuality are frank, funny, wise, and sometimes painful. Gradually, Leila begins to see that almost all her classmates are more complicated than they first appear to be, and many are keeping fascinating secrets of their own.

Finally a book with diverse character! I really liked this book because it had a diverse MC and plus it was filled with humor.

Our MC, Leila is an Iranian American, so she already feels different from her peers, but she’s also a lesbian. When a new girl shows up, Saskia, Leila starts to have feelings towards her, which leads to a series of events involving Leila and her new crush.

I loved how the author portrayed the culture, it felt really authentic and considering the author herself is Iranian American I think it portrays the culture really well. The plot is pretty basic, but I enjoyed reading it. The characters were good, but a bit flat at times.

I enjoyed Leila as a character. I loved how she was so confident about herself even though at times she felt a little self-confident (don’t we all?). I loved how she was sort of sarcastic at times. The rest of the characters were sort of flat for me, they felt poorly written. Some of the characters fitted a very specific stereotype, for example Tomas was a completely stereotypical gay guy. I also hated how Leila automatically assumed that the tech crew she worked with were all gay. Saskia also was poorly written, I thought she would have a little bit more development, but she was only shown as a very mean and beautiful girl.

The book overall is short, so the plot is kind of underdeveloped at times. Some parts of the plot seemed unnecessary at times. I did like how the plot was mainly centered around family and friends. I also think the author’s portrayal of Leila coming out was really accurate.

Overall I really liked reading this book and highly recommend it.

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

Witches_Cauldron-2

4/5 Cauldrons

Catbug_wallpaper_sugar_peas_by_tet_teddy-d5znn9c

Melanie
I love reading books of all genres, especially young adult. I am currently a freshman in high school, which takes up the majority of my time. I love watching Supernatural and listening to music by FOB, P!ATD, Halsey, Florence + The Machine, etc. I would love to be go into the medical field when I graduate high school.
Connect With Me:
Leave a Reply

