Review: Movers & Fakers

Book Review13047090Title: Movers & Fakers

Author: Lisi Harrison

Series: Alphas Series

Publisher: Poppy

Publish Date: April 6th, 2010

Genres: Chick Lit, Fiction

ALPHA ACADEMY: WHERE EXCEPTIONAL IS SERIOUS-LEH ORDINARY.
Eccentric billionaire Shira Brazille founded the super-exclusive Alpha Academy to nurture the next generation of exceptional dancers, writers, musicians, and inventors. It’s a dream come true for one hundred lucky girls, but those not measuring up will be sent home at any time, for any reason. The one left standing will win worldwide fame. Who will it be?

SKYE HAMILTON
Arrived at Alpha Academy ready to dance circles around the competition, but she’s having a hard time feeling the beat. Her newest HAD (Hope and Dream): less stress, more fun. Now Skye’s torn between what kind of Alpha she wants to be, and which uber-hawt Brazille boy she wants to be with.

CHARLIE DEERY
Can invent practically anything — except girlfriends. But now Allie A. is warming to her, and Charlie wants to keep it that way — even if it means helping Allie A. land Darwin. But will hooking up her ex-crush end up crushing her?

ALLIE A. ABBOTT
Is serious-leh relieved she hasn’t been sent home yet, especially now that everyone knows she’s more faux than a St. Tropez spray tan. Can she prove she’s a true Alpha after all? Or will she go from beautiful to beta-ful?

If at first you don’t succeed, you’re not an alpha.

What an eye-opener to the lives of privileged-to-the-point-of-being-spoiled children who have had everything handed to them on a silver platter and expect everything to continue as such for the remainder of their lives.  There were far too many non-age appropriate meltdowns for my liking, each one more cringeworthy than the last.  Combine this with an all-girls’ boarding school, explosive estrogen levels, and a short supply of eligible males, and you’re in for an…interesting read.

The characters, needless to say, were a constant source of aggravation, stooping to unbelievably low levels which, realistically, would not be tolerated in a preschool, let alone a high school setting.  Having been brought up, for the most part, in extremely wealthy families, they readily conveyed their excessive feelings of entitlement and subsequent frustration when their every whim was not catered to.  I would not imagine that taking a group of wealthy, spoiled teenagers, placing them in close confines with one another, and establishing a set of strict rules regarding their behavior, actions, outfits, etc. generally ends well; it’s more of a recipe for disaster if I ever saw one.

Furthermore, the girls’ incessant fawning over their male counterparts would lead one to believe that they had been sheltered their entire lives from the existence of the male sex.  I can only equate their behavior to that of the cast of Mean Girls about five years prior to the setting of the movie.  Their desperation and actions themselves were abhorrent to the point of being laughable, and I had trouble keeping a straight face at the most inopportune of times. I didn’t realize I would ever walk away from a book with so much cumulative secondhand embarrassment, but I guess there’s always a first for everything.

While reading, I had one central question nagging at me: how in the world did thirteen and fourteen year-olds accomplish such impressive feats that had stumped countless adults before them?  How were they able to run circles around the Steve Jobs, Michael Bubles, and Misty Coplands of the world?  No matter how hard I tried to wrack my memory for any clues or explanations as to their unbelievable successes (and potentially even more surprising lack of public acknowledgment or approval), I always came up empty-handed.  Hopefully this will be addressed in later installments, because nothing is adding up so far, and I can only envision this issue snowballing moving forward.

Above and beyond this small plot-hole, the storyline was fairly comprehensive and intriguing with several pulse-raising scenes.  I was initially worried that there were would be a great deal of plot overlap with the first book in the series, but I was pleasantly surprised.  It’s still not clear where exactly the series is headed, but it doesn’t appear that the characters haven’t started wandering aimlessly yet, so I’m not overly concerned.

I was mildly disappointed by the lackluster ending that left me looking for more.  There was very little resolution – no loose strings were tied up, no questions were answered.  The series is written as if one book is simply a continuation of the next without any distinct introduction or conclusion for each individual component.  One seamlessly picks up where the previous left off.  Since these books are so short, I would have preferred a single, longer book to these shorter installments due to the absence of any significant, final chapter cliffhangers or plot twists.

Despite the overly fake characters, I’m still determined to finish the series with the hopes that there will be some sort of resolution in the final book.  Both the plot and the writing style have caught and held my attention, and this was a fairly short, easy read.  I’m assuming the remaining installments in the series will be fairly comparable, so my expectations aren’t extremely high, but they should be entertaining reads nevertheless.

Categories Ratings
Plot & Premise Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Characters Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Writing Style Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Romance Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Friendships Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)

Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2Witches_Cauldron-2

3/5 Cauldrons


Profile Picture

Olivia
I am a freshman in college and an avid reader/reviewer, horseback rider, and graphic designer.  Since a young age, I have fostered a love of reading, beginning with my forays into the Nancy Drew series.  I’ve branched out significantly in my reading tastes since then, and my favorite genres include young adult, romance, mystery, and thriller.  I’m constantly trying to expand my horizons, however, so I do dabble in other genres.  While I’m not reading, I volunteer at a hippotherapy center and a veterinary clinic, practice agility with my dogs, play piano and guitar, and sketch.
Connect With Me:

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Movers & Fakers

    • I would highly, highly recommend it, although I would recommend desensitizing yourself to needy, demanding children throwing themselves at one another and proclaiming their undying love for each other despite having met only several weeks prior. Surviving high school would likely have the same effect, though, now that I think about it…

      All kidding aside, I think it was definitely worth a read. The books are also relatively short, so they can’t be too painful of a read!

      Like

  1. You had so many good points with all the character stuff. They were so desperate and it just made me sick how they were throwing themselves at all the boys constantly. Like grow up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

