Review: Even When You Lie to Me

0

Book Review

 

18740851Title: Even When You Lie to Me

Author: Jessica Alcott

Series: N/A

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

Publish Date: June 9th, 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance,

Fans of John Green’s Looking for Alaska as well as Lauren Oliver and Sarah Dessen will embrace this provocative debut novel, an exploration of taboo love set against the backdrop of a suburban high school.

Charlie, a senior, isn’t looking forward to her last year of high school. Another year of living in the shadow of her best friend, Lila. Another year of hiding behind the covers of her favorite novels. Another year of navigating her tense relationship with her perfectionist mom.

But everything changes when she meets her new English teacher. Mr. Drummond is smart. Irreverent. Funny. Hot. Everyone loves him. And Charlie thinks he’s the only one who gets her.

She also thinks she might not be the only one with a crush.

In this stunning debut, Jessica Alcott explores relationships-and their boundaries-in a way that is both searingly honest and sympathetic.

 

Continue reading

Advertisements

Blogging 101: ARC Basics

2

One of the most common areas of confusion for newer bloggers is ARCs – what they are, how to acquire them, and how to interact with authors and publishers.  While I am by no means an expert on ARCs and the requesting process, I’ve received a decent number of them over the years (and am currently sorting through a rather hefty pile of them).  Therefore, I’ve compiled a few tips and tricks regarding how to request ARCs and interact professionally with publishers.

Continue reading

Review: The Scorpio Races

2

Book Review13047090Title: The Scorpio Races

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Series: none

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Publish Date: October 18th, 2011

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction

It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.

At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.

Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.

Continue reading

Review: I’ll Give You the Sun

2

Book Review


20820994Title:
 I’ll Give You the Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Series: N/A

Publisher: Dial Books

Publish Date: September 16th, 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT themes

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author ofThe Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once

 

Continue reading

Discussion: Mid-Series Cover Changes (+ why publishers have a death wish)

2

Discussion

Personality-wise, I’m an extremely OCD person: everything has its place, including publishers who feel the need to change book covers partway through a series (aka, a special spot in hell).  Why must they destroy my bookshelf aesthetic and force me into purchasing duplicate copies of previous installments, just so the covers and spines match?

Continue reading

Most Anticipated Releases of Fall 2016

2

I’m a highly impatient person (and no, I do not need a “Patience is a virtue…which you are clearing lacking” lecture).  So when it comes to release dates, I watch them like a hawk, checking back frequently because I’ve mentally convinced myself that this will change the outcome.  Or that the dates will have been magically moved up…but then again, who am I kidding?  Combine this with my infatuation with “Pre-Order” buttons and a complete lack of self-restraint, and you have a recipe for disaster.  Nevertheless, I don’t think I’ll be putting an end to this habit anytime soon.

Just in case you don’t share my peculiar obsession with stalking the websites, twitters, facebooks, personal lives, etc. of authors with upcoming releases, I figured I would divert my restlessness and compile a list of upcoming releases during the fall of 2016.  And yes, this might give me another excuse to check those publication dates again…

Continue reading