Review: Even When You Lie to Me

0
Book Review
18740851

Title: Even When You Lie to Me

Author: Jessica Alcott

Series: N/A

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

Publish Date: June 9th, 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance,

Fans of John Green’s Looking for Alaska as well as Lauren Oliver and Sarah Dessen will embrace this provocative debut novel, an exploration of taboo love set against the backdrop of a suburban high school.

Charlie, a senior, isn’t looking forward to her last year of high school. Another year of living in the shadow of her best friend, Lila. Another year of hiding behind the covers of her favorite novels. Another year of navigating her tense relationship with her perfectionist mom.

But everything changes when she meets her new English teacher. Mr. Drummond is smart. Irreverent. Funny. Hot. Everyone loves him. And Charlie thinks he’s the only one who gets her.

She also thinks she might not be the only one with a crush.

In this stunning debut, Jessica Alcott explores relationships-and their boundaries-in a way that is both searingly honest and sympathetic.

Continue reading

Blogging 101: ARC Basics

2

One of the most common areas of confusion for newer bloggers is ARCs – what they are, how to acquire them, and how to interact with authors and publishers.  While I am by no means an expert on ARCs and the requesting process, I’ve received a decent number of them over the years (and am currently sorting through a rather hefty pile of them).  Therefore, I’ve compiled a few tips and tricks regarding how to request ARCs and interact professionally with publishers.

Continue reading

Review: The Scorpio Races

2

Book Review13047090Title: The Scorpio Races

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Series: none

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Publish Date: October 18th, 2011

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction

It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.

At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.

Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.

Continue reading

Review: I’ll Give You the Sun

2

Book Review


20820994Title:
 I’ll Give You the Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Series: N/A

Publisher: Dial Books

Publish Date: September 16th, 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT themes

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author ofThe Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once

 

Continue reading

Discussion: Mid-Series Cover Changes (+ why publishers have a death wish)

2

Discussion

Personality-wise, I’m an extremely OCD person: everything has its place, including publishers who feel the need to change book covers partway through a series (aka, a special spot in hell).  Why must they destroy my bookshelf aesthetic and force me into purchasing duplicate copies of previous installments, just so the covers and spines match?

Continue reading

Most Anticipated Releases of Fall 2016

2

I’m a highly impatient person (and no, I do not need a “Patience is a virtue…which you are clearing lacking” lecture).  So when it comes to release dates, I watch them like a hawk, checking back frequently because I’ve mentally convinced myself that this will change the outcome.  Or that the dates will have been magically moved up…but then again, who am I kidding?  Combine this with my infatuation with “Pre-Order” buttons and a complete lack of self-restraint, and you have a recipe for disaster.  Nevertheless, I don’t think I’ll be putting an end to this habit anytime soon.

Just in case you don’t share my peculiar obsession with stalking the websites, twitters, facebooks, personal lives, etc. of authors with upcoming releases, I figured I would divert my restlessness and compile a list of upcoming releases during the fall of 2016.  And yes, this might give me another excuse to check those publication dates again…

Continue reading

Review: Hush

0

Book Review13047090Title: Hush

Author: Stacey R. Campbell

Series: Lakeview Series

Publisher: Green Darner Press

Publish Date: November 15th, 2012

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction

For small-town girl Blakely Henry, any hope of finding her biological parents died when she stopped believing in fairy tales and Disney princesses. That is, until she spots her boarding school’s new British exchange student, Max Ryder, staring at her. Why would a boy who looks like he stepped out of the pages of a magazine be looking at her? Because Max knows something Blakely doesn’t.

Following the tragic demise of one of Europe’s most beloved royal families, Max has stumbled upon information he thinks may lead to a lost royal heir, and now he is on a quest halfway around the world to see if he’s right.

Sworn to secrecy by his university professor and the headmaster of Lakeview Academy, Max is admitted into an exchange program with the sole purpose of finding out the truth. But will his personal feelings for Blakely get in the way?

When a stolen email surfaces, Blakely and her friends’ lives are threatened, and Max starts to question what he is really after.

From the exclusive rolling lawns of Canada’s most prestigious boarding school to the University of Saint Andrews’ hallowed grounds, Blakely’s quiet, unassuming life is turned upside down. Is she really who she thinks she is? Can she survive long enough to help Max unearth the truth?

Continue reading

Blogging 101: Basic HTML

2

 photo blogging tip_zpsytxp6wy5.jpg

Before I started teaching myself how to code, the word “HTML” sent me into a bit of a panic, primarily because I never completely understood it.  I couldn’t wrap my head around how garbled nonsense translated into beautifully designed web pages, let alone how I would go about replicating lines and lines of code.  When I began researching HTML to learn more, the sheer volume of information I was uncovering was overwhelming to say the least.  There were thousands of Google search results, and seemingly more variations and methods to go about writing HTML codes.  If you take away one point from this post, let it be this: do not Google HTML, for your own sanity.

Now that I’ve had some time to learn the ropes and experiment with HTML both here on Brewing Up Books as well as on several other platforms, I decided to compile a list and explanations of my most frequently used HTML codes.

Continue reading

Review: Dreamology

2

Book Review

23466626Title:
 Dreamology

Author: Lucy Keating

Series: N/A

Publisher: Harper Teen

Publish Date: April 12th, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Contemporary, Romance

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

When their dreams start to bleed dangerously into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

 

Continue reading

Review: Solid

0

Book Review13047090Title: Solid

Author: Shelley Workinger

Series: Solid Series

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Publish Date: July 9th, 2010

Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction

Clio Kaid may be 17 and just beginning the last summer before her senior year, but her life is anything but typical.

She’s just discovered she was genetically altered before birth and is now headed to a top-secret Army campus to explore the surprising results of the experiment.

Follow Clio and the other teens as they develop fantastic super-abilities, forge new friendships, and find love as they search for answers.

Continue reading

Summer 2016 Book Haul

9

Without the added stress and time consumption of school, summer equates to one thing: ample time to read, whether it be by the pool, at the beach, or in the comfort (and air conditioning) of home.  June,  July, and August also happen to be the months during which I spend the greatest amount of money on… you guessed it – books.  Despite my book hoarding tendencies which will likely bury me alive, I’ve gone on several shopping sprees over the past several weeks and have gradually been adding to my growing collection.

Continue reading

Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

2

Book Review13047090Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Author: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

Series: Harry Potter Series

Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books

Publish Date: July 31st, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Continue reading

eReader Comparison

10

eReaders have become widely popular over the past decade and are now a staple for most bookworms.  If you’re currently in the market for an eReader, it’s often challenging to gauge which device will be best suited to your needs and preferences – should you get a Kindle?  Something with E-ink technology?  A touchscreen?  A tablet with additional capabilities?   Wifi and 3G?

I’ve gone through quite a few eReaders myself throughout the years (I seem to be particularly brutal on them…or I’ve just had exquisitely bad luck), and I’ve consequently had the opportunity to experiment with a variety of features and designs.   While I am in no way a technological expert, I figured it couldn’t hurt to share my experiences, likes, dislikes, etc., imparting information I wish I had known prior to purchasing these devices.

Continue reading