Review: Dreamology

Book Review

23466626Title:
 Dreamology

Author: Lucy Keating

Series: N/A

Publisher: Harper Teen

Publish Date: April 12th, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Contemporary, Romance

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

When their dreams start to bleed dangerously into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

 

This book battles a lot with the idea of what would happen after meeting our dream guy. Literally.

In a perfect Disney world, this book would not even need to exist. Alice would walk in and see Max and he would look up and they would burst into a song about finally finding each other, and then they would run into the other’s arms, kiss, and happily ever after.

This is not that story.

Let’s start with Alice. Alice is a snarky protagonist, full of wit and a good deal of teen angst, but not enough to really annoy you. She’s funny and relatable, and thinks she is officially losing it when she meets Max. I genuinely loved Alice, and I think my only issue with her wasn’t actually with her, but with the fact that her love for art wasn’t more explored. We were told that Alice loved visiting museums, and 80% of the time that was where you could find her, but she hardly visits them at all in the book.

I wasn’t super sure how I felt about Max. I guess I had a lot of trouble connecting dream him with real him. Even near the end where he was supposed to easily seem like one person, he didn’t really appear that or me.

I think the strangest thing about this novel was the romance, because I would have easily been ok with any of the main characters going off with other people. I guess it was mainly because all the characters were so charming (*cough* Oliver  *cough*) that I just wouldn’t have minded. Though I must admit, there was a part or two that had me fervently shaking my head no at the characters interactions, because no you can’t wreck this it’s too good for you to wreck it!

Let’s talk a moment about the dreams. I must say, I love the way the dreams are written. Why? Because 1) it is a huge basis for this story and deserves attention, and 2) they seemed like honest dreams! I’ve read many books where a dream occurs and it seems too linear, too fantasy, for it to be a believable dream. In Alice and Max’s dreams, we are jumping up and down and side to side with Jenga towers, Oreo cake, hot air balloons, and museums. It seemed like something I may drift off into.

Another thing I loved about this story is that it had a point past just Max. The blurb makes this book sound like Alice is just chasing after Max the rest of the book trying to get him to know her without the dreams. No. This book grapples with reality and dreams and the difference between them. It deals with insanity and confusing relationships and friendships.

Another thing I loved: if you don’t know much about dreaming and the science behind it, this book serves as a nice little introduction course. It’s pretty scientifically sound in it’s points, and that made me very happy.

I would definitely recommend this book to just about anybody, and I truly cannot wait for more of Lucy Keating’s stories. She does a splendid job of creating a beautiful world with hilarious and empathetic characters.

Categories Ratings
Plot & Premise Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2
Characters Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2
Writing Style Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Romance Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Friendships Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2

Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2

4.5/5 Cauldrons

 


 

animals_long_hair_twintails_braids_white_hair_aqua_eyes_hats_anime_girls_wolves_1600x1200_wallpap_Art

Kenzie

I’m in love with reading, and have been since I was able to hold a book. But when I’m not reading, I’m working hard towards my other passion: Music. I play in all ensembles my school offers, and some outside of that. I’m a junior in high school, and I aspire to be a performing musician one day.

I usually stay with YA, but I’ve been known to venture into some odd areas as well. I also sometimes read younger than my level because of my middle school sibling.

2 thoughts on “Review: Dreamology

    • Awe thank you! I adore when readers tell me my review made them want to read a book 🙂 I agree on the cover. It’s one of the rare times that the inside seemed as beautiful to me as the outside (Yes, I am a cover-slut xD). I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

