Review: I’ll Give You the Sun

Book Review


20820994Title:
 I’ll Give You the Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Series: N/A

Publisher: Dial Books

Publish Date: September 16th, 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT themes

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author ofThe Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once

 

giphy

Here’s a little secret about me: I hate being wrong. I hate getting things incorrect, and I hate not being right in general. What is even worse than me being corrected by someone else? Me correcting myself. Especially when it comes to books.

Many of you who are in the book scene will know of this book. I have known about it for the past two years, but quickly passed it off as a sad attempt to imitate some touching, contemporary book like The Fault In Our Stars. As I witnessed it’s release in paperback I finally decided to pick it up and give it a try at Barnes & Noble. I was quickly impressed by how drawn in by the book I was, but figured I could get it at the library a bit later.

As it turned out, I had to rush to Iowa for a funeral and my cousin there had a copy of this book. I asked if I could read it before I went home. That turned into a day full of nothing but reading this amazing book.

Let me talk about the way it’s written first. Jude tells us about current events, while Noah gives us insight into their life before everything changed. I was very impressed with this idea, because any time you would wonder about something Jude had said in the present, it was instantly explained by Noah in the next chapter. I think the only thing I didn’t enjoy about this book was how freaking long the chapters were dear Lord. Seriously. It was bordering on ridiculous.

As much as I ended up enjoying Jude, I really think Noah was my favorite. He would give us paintings he would do in his head, and sometimes those images encompassed how he was feeling in the moment better than a paragraph of explaining would.

Noah and Jude are both ridiculously artsy. Noah is a wonderful painter, and Jude is a sculptor. I have learned through books to see the world in many different ways, but this book told me how to look at the world in colors. It was a strange but very enjoyable experience. I slowly came to realize that there is more ways to describe a situation than by simply stating the feeling.

The story itself is one that blew me away. In books, I often notice that the characters are flawless. Sure, they may have one or two little problems, but if you eliminated those, you would have a perfect human. Not any character in this story. All of them are so deeply flawed you can feel it like an ache in your own bones. They don’t try to make excuses for why they do the things they do. Instead they beg you to understand.

I love Jude’s superstitions. They are not only amusing but they make you wonder for just a second if things like luck are true. It’s an amusing but very real coping method, and it made me muse on what others coping mechanisms might be.

This book deals with many tough subjects, and confronts them head on. Sibling rivalry, death, what happens in our own heads when our passions are pressed away, revenge and hurt, attention, favoritism, grief and emotion. The best part is, they display them in a very gritty way. These subjects aren’t glossed over and sprinkled with fairy dust. This book made me feel emotions in a way a book hasn’t been able to in a long, long time.

Frankly, I loved this book. It will definitely be one of the ones I continue to talk about for a long time, and I can see myself buying my own copy and rereading it several times over. I will recommend and shove this book at many people this year, and pray they enjoy it as much as I did.

Categories Ratings
Plot & Premise Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Characters Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2
Writing Style Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Romance Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2
Friendships Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)

Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)

5/5 Cauldrons

 


 

animals_long_hair_twintails_braids_white_hair_aqua_eyes_hats_anime_girls_wolves_1600x1200_wallpap_Art

Kenzie

I’m in love with reading, and have been since I was able to hold a book. But when I’m not reading, I’m working hard towards my other passion: Music. I play in all ensembles my school offers, and some outside of that. I’m a junior in high school, and I aspire to be a performing musician one day.

I usually stay with YA, but I’ve been known to venture into some odd areas as well. I also sometimes read younger than my level because of my middle school sibling.

2 thoughts on “Review: I’ll Give You the Sun

  1. Oh I can’t believe you were comparing it to The Fault in our Stars! I did enjoy that one, but I’ll Give You The Sun was just so incredibly amazing. I am so glad you gave it a chance and I am glad you loved it too. I love Jandy Nelson!

    Like

    • I’m definitely going to have to check out her other books! In my brain that is just what it connected to at the time. So happy I gave it a shot!

      Like

Leave a Reply

