Review: Even When You Lie to Me

Book Review

 

18740851Title: Even When You Lie to Me

Author: Jessica Alcott

Series: N/A

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

Publish Date: June 9th, 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance,

Fans of John Green’s Looking for Alaska as well as Lauren Oliver and Sarah Dessen will embrace this provocative debut novel, an exploration of taboo love set against the backdrop of a suburban high school.

Charlie, a senior, isn’t looking forward to her last year of high school. Another year of living in the shadow of her best friend, Lila. Another year of hiding behind the covers of her favorite novels. Another year of navigating her tense relationship with her perfectionist mom.

But everything changes when she meets her new English teacher. Mr. Drummond is smart. Irreverent. Funny. Hot. Everyone loves him. And Charlie thinks he’s the only one who gets her.

She also thinks she might not be the only one with a crush.

In this stunning debut, Jessica Alcott explores relationships-and their boundaries-in a way that is both searingly honest and sympathetic.

 

This book is one that made me sigh. Not in a super sappy way, but not in a totally exasperated way either.

I actually enjoyed the book a lot. I enjoyed the bantering between Charlie and just about everyone in the book, and I was very impressed by the ending. This isn’t my first time reading a teacher-student romance, and I know they usually end stupidly happy or stupidly sad. I was impressed by the turn it took, and was very satisfied with it.

Let’s talk about Charlie for a second. She was insanely annoying. She thought she was a big blob of flesh who needed to mask herself in clothes, and was constantly talking about any pudginess she may have. Plus, she acted like a brat. Which is probably why she was my favorite character. Not because of how she was in the beginning, but the character development swept her away and made her into something wonderful (thank God for character development).

Drummond was cool enough. I thought his interactions with Charlie were fairly accurate to what a relationship with her teacher would look like, and I really enjoyed their “play pretend” games. They were fairly amusing and a wonderful form of communication.

Another thing I enjoyed about this book is that this wasn’t really a love story. It’s missing the components for how someone may fall in love with someone else, and it doesn’t try to force those extra emotions onto the characters. This story is about a crush, and what all happens when a crush continues throughout the year.

Lila and Charlie’s friendship confused me a little, I must say. I didn’t understand how Charlie could truly be friends with someone she was so insanely jealous of all the time. They were really crap friends and it baffled me.

This book wasn’t blow away wonderful, but it did speak to the truth, and it was also funny as crap sometimes. A good time passer, but I think that’s about it.

Categories Ratings
Plot & Premise Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2
Characters Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2
Writing Style Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Romance Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Friendships Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2

Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2

3.5/5 Cauldrons

 


 

animals_long_hair_twintails_braids_white_hair_aqua_eyes_hats_anime_girls_wolves_1600x1200_wallpap_Art

Kenzie

I’m in love with reading, and have been since I was able to hold a book. But when I’m not reading, I’m working hard towards my other passion: Music. I play in all ensembles my school offers, and some outside of that. I’m a junior in high school, and I aspire to be a performing musician one day.

I usually stay with YA, but I’ve been known to venture into some odd areas as well. I also sometimes read younger than my level because of my middle school sibling.

Leave a Reply

