Review: Rebel Sands

Book Review

 

24934065Title: Rebel of the Sands

Author: Alwyn Hamilton

Series: Rebel of the Sands

Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers

Publish Date: March 8th, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Magic, Fantasy, Adventure, Romance

She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him… or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

 

I am an adventure person. Sometimes I can jump into a book completely geared towards romance, but mostly, for me, I need some action. This book had a good deal of it, but sometimes it kind of just static-lined.

Amani was pretty cool, if a little slow for a character, but I really enjoyed watching her develop as a character and get stronger. Jin was a little infuriating, and I can’t say I was completely in love with him like some book characters, but he was fairly amusing.

The world building was very intriguing with all the legend and lore of the area, but I couldn’t quite grasp the way it was suppose to appear. The background almost felt shaky to me. I wasn’t always sure that I was getting the idea the author was trying to communicate.

Not going to lie to you, a lot of this book is predictable, and there is only about one moment that will kind of slap you upside the head, but you still figure it out way before Amani does, which is a little disheartening.

It’s a fairly easy read to get through, but there isn’t really anything in it that will move you in a big way. I’ll probably read the next one if I find the time to when it comes out, but it won’t be on the very top of my TBR pile.

That’s really all I have to say about this book. I’ve read better, but I have read worst too, so it’s officially titled “Average” for me.

Categories Ratings
Plot & Premise Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Characters Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2
Writing Style Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Romance Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)witches_cauldron-2
Friendships Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)

Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)

3/5 Cauldrons

 


 

animals_long_hair_twintails_braids_white_hair_aqua_eyes_hats_anime_girls_wolves_1600x1200_wallpap_Art

Kenzie

I’m in love with reading, and have been since I was able to hold a book. But when I’m not reading, I’m working hard towards my other passion: Music. I play in all ensembles my school offers, and some outside of that. I’m a junior in high school, and I aspire to be a performing musician one day.

I usually stay with YA, but I’ve been known to venture into some odd areas as well. I also sometimes read younger than my level because of my middle school sibling.

Leave a Reply

