Review: Fates

Book Review13047090Title: Fates

Author: Lanie Bross

Series: Fates Series

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publish Date: February 11th, 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.

She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people’s fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home.

But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she is falling all over again–this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die. In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in?

I can’t stand this feeling. Whatsoever. The feeling of stopping partway through a book. Giving up. I managed to read 53% of the book before throwing in the towel and admitting defeat. I try to give every book the benefit of the doubt and force myself to read at least 1/2 of every book before putting it down. Evidently this book didn’t last very long. Unfortunately, it was a hot mess.

Corinthe was a Fate – until she was exiled to earth for a single foolish mistake. As she struggles to adjust to life on earth, she acquires a new role – that of an executioner. She is responsible for fulfilling destinies, influencing the lives of certain individuals by establishing and breaking relationships, causing death and destruction, and altering the course of history. When one of these destinies, however, goes horribly wrong, Corinthe embarks upon the adventure of a lifetime to correct her mistakes and return safely to her homeland.

The book had a very interesting, original premise. The intriguing summary convinced me to request this book on netgalley. I enjoyed the first two or three chapters, which introduced the characters and the setting, but it went downhill from there. I found fault with quite a few aspects of this book, namely the characters, plot, and writing style.

Corinthe came across as cold and emotionless, making her a bit challenging to relate to. She was driven by the hope of returning home, putting her feelings aside and utterly devoting herself to this goal. Her lack of sympathy was evident even during her interactions with Lucas, the love of her life. She spends the majority of the first 53% of the book attempting to kill him, despite her inexplicable attraction to him. After all, everyone expects to have a knife held to their throat on a first date. Their relationship was stereotypical and dull, particularly in the absence of chemistry. I wouldn’t exactly consider it romance, either; it came across as more of a summer fling that wouldn’t last more than a few months.

To put it simply, the plot was confusing. Bross established an entirely new universe, composed of many intricate details, including fictitious creatures and locations. Many of these details are not immediately revealed, and some are omitted from the text altogether. Nevertheless, the author launches into a complex storyline with many twists and turns, quickly leaving her baffled readers behind. Because I was unable to follow the storyline, I found this book to be a tedious and frustrating read.

Overall, I wasn’t a huge fan of this book, as you can probably gather. From the very beginning, I found it to be a rather disappointing read. The bland characters and confusing plot were ultimately deal breakers for me. It had very few redeeming qualities, ultimately convincing me to stop reading halfway through the book. So while I loved the concept behind the book, I didn’t enjoy its execution.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Categories Ratings
Plot & Premise witches_cauldron-2
Characters witches_cauldron-2
Writing Style Cauldron (Use for Stars)Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Romance Cauldron (Use for Stars)
Friendships witches_cauldron-2

Witches_Cauldron-2

 

 

1/5 Cauldrons


Profile Picture

Olivia
I am a freshman in college and an avid reader/reviewer, horseback rider, and graphic designer.  Since a young age, I have fostered a love of reading, beginning with my forays into the Nancy Drew series.  I’ve branched out significantly in my reading tastes since then, and my favorite genres include young adult, romance, mystery, and thriller.  I’m constantly trying to expand my horizons, however, so I do dabble in other genres.  While I’m not reading, I volunteer at a hippotherapy center and a veterinary clinic, practice agility with my dogs, play piano and guitar, and sketch.
Connect With Me:
Leave a Reply

