2016 Recap & 2017 Resolutions

I met my Reading Challenge of 50 books throughout 2016 by reading…exactly 50 books!  There were a few ups and downs along the way, including some new favorites and a handful of disappointments.  I started college a few months ago which has been significantly cutting into my reading time, but I’m hoping that this will improve over the next several months!

2016 Reads

Dream Killer, by Mike Baldwin ★★

Birthright, by Sydney Addae ★

We Were Liars, by E. Lockhart ★★★★

Four Major Plays, by Henrik Ibsen ★

Aeneid, by Virgil ★★★★

The One, by Kiera Cass ★★★★★

Jackaby, by William Ritter ★★★★

Go Set a Watchman, by Harper Lee ★

The Heir, by Kiera Cass ★★

Devlin’s Door, by K. Kibbee ★★

Shiver, by Maggie Stiefvater ★★★★★

The Tempest, by William Shakespeare ★★

Alphas, by Lisi Harrison ★★★★

The Program, by Suzanne Young ★★★★★

Translations, by Brian Friel ★★★★

Atlantia, by Ally Condie ★★

Perfect Chemistry, by Simone Elkeles ★★★★★

Water for Elephants, by Sara Gruen ★★★★★

Room, by Emma Donoghue ★★★

Rules of Attraction, by Simone Elkeles ★★★

Me Before You, by Jojo Moyes ★★★★★

Caesar’s Gallic Wars, by Julius Caesar ★

Confessions of a Murder Suspect, by James Patterson ★

The Private School Murders, by James Patterson ★★★★

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, by April Genevieve Tucholke ★

The Wrecking Crew, by Taylor Zajonc ★★★★

Going Back, by Jennifer Young ★★

Vampire Academy, by Richelle Mead ★★★★

Hunger, by Michael Grant ★★

Movers and Fakers, by Lisi Harrison ★★★

Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell ★

Diary of a Wimpy Kid #1-10, by Jeff Kinney ★

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, by John Tiffany and Jack Thorne ★

Solid, by Shelley Workinger ★★★★

The Scorpio Races, by Maggie Stiefvater ★★★★★

The Freshman Survival Guide, by Nora Bradbury-Haehl ★★

Much Ado About Nothing, by William Shakespeare ★★★★

A Midsummer Night’s Dream, by William Shakespeare ★★★

Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn ★★★★

Here Be Monsters!, by Alan Snow ★★★★

Along Came a Spider, by James Patterson ★★★


2016 Reading Statistics

Average Rating: 2.70

Total # of Pages Read: 15,660

Average # of Pages: 320

# of Books Marked DNF: 4

# of ARCs: 5 books, 10% of total books read

Most Popular Book Read: Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn

Least Popular Book Read: Going Back, by Jennifer Young

# of Books Purchased: 41

Longest Book Read During 2016: Hunger, by Michael Grant – 590 pages

Shortest Book Read During 2016: Translations, by Brian Friel – 91 pages



2017 Goodreads Reading Challenge

For 2017, I’m challenging myself to read 65 books.  This’ll be a little interesting to juggle while in college full-time, but I’m aiming to specifically set aside more time for reading this year.

You can also follow my reading progress throughout 2017 on Goodreads.


2017 Resolutions

In the past, I haven’t been one to create additional bookish resolutions above and beyond the annual Goodreads Reading Challenge.  This year, I decided to switch things up and create a few resolutions:

  • Marathoning series.  I’ve had a multitude of unstarted and barely started series sitting on my shelves, collecting dust, for years.  I’m determined to knock a few of these off my TBR list once and for all, so the only logical decision is to start marathoning!
  • Bookstagram.  Since starting college, I haven’t had much time to dedicate toward bookstagram.  I’m hoping to change this throughout 2017, posting more frequently, snapping more bookish photos, and increasing interactions with other bookstagrams.
  • Brushing up on some classics.  I’ve also had a few unread classics lying around for the past several years.  When I’m searching for my next read, I always stare at the classics section of my bookshelf, contemplate picking one up, and put if off for another day, opting for an easier and/or shorter read instead.
  • Reorganize my bookshelves.  My bookshelves have gotten a bit out of hand recently, and there’s currently no organization system in place.  I’m also running out of space on my shelves – I’ve started double stacking books, as well as creating unruly piles on the floor.  Needless to say, they’re a bit unsightly and could definitely use some work.
  • Limit my book-buying obsession.  Somewhat.  I have a book buying problem, and it’s gotten progressively worse recently.  This year, I want to reign in my bookish purchases and focus on tackling my growing TBR, rather than continuing to add books to my TBR shelf at an alarming rate.

Books I Hope to Read in 2017


Our Most Popular Posts from 2016


What are some of your bookish and non-bookish resolutions and goals for 2017?
Profile Picture

Olivia
I am a freshman in college and an avid reader/reviewer, horseback rider, and graphic designer.  Since a young age, I have fostered a love of reading, beginning with my forays into the Nancy Drew series.  I’ve branched out significantly in my reading tastes since then, and my favorite genres include young adult, romance, mystery, and thriller.  I’m constantly trying to expand my horizons, however, so I do dabble in other genres.  While I’m not reading, I volunteer at a hippotherapy center and a veterinary clinic, practice agility with my dogs, play piano and guitar, and sketch.
Connect With Me:
4 thoughts on “2016 Recap & 2017 Resolutions

    • You were the one who got me hooked on Perfect Chemistry! I wasn’t a huge fan of the other books in the series, but I absolutely fell in love with Perfect Chemistry, which I 100% was not expecting because I typically despise romance-driven novels. Thanks for pushing me to read it though – I wouldn’t have found one of my favorite reads of the year without you!

      Thank you so much for the tag! Can’t wait to see you on Tuesday 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

